Tough times at Duck Ponds Farm


We experience some tough times with our farm animals here at Duck Ponds Farm and begin to question what we are doing. On a brighter note, we have received a lot of rain that has really recharged the farm.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Man, that's a rough go with the sheep. Now that I know this is an older video, did you decide to keep the sheep? Are they going well now?

I constantly feel like this with my chickens. I am constantly worried about their health and such. It's a rough feeling questioning whether or not I am cut out for this type of deal.

I'm glad to hear that you've had positive experiences with the piggies. We were hoping to go with some Kune Kune next year, but have no experience. I was also hoping to do electric fencing for them but am worried for it because our location is so dry. We don't even get 15" per year and to hear that you got it in just a few days! Whew! Any ways you've found to mitigate the issues with electric fencing because of dry? I'd love to hear about it.

I have my hot fence grounded where my ac unit leaks at. When It gets hot and dry I will have the a.c. unit on and walla! No grounding issue.

That may work. There needs to be enough moisture in the ground though to transfer the current from wherever the animal touches the live wire, through the ground, back to the earth stake. If there isn't enough moisture in the ground, the circuit won't be completed.

That is why I have my rod where I do. When it is hot/dry I have my ac on. The ac unit "waters" the rod. I have fence alerts that will flash if my fence gmhas a issue. Yet to have an issue due to grounding in 7 years.

It was pretty wet here for a while, not so much now, but we have been getting enough rain to keep the place green.

Yes we are continuing with the sheep. We have re-collected ourselves and are moving forward. In fact, we have plans to install some better fencing to make things a bit easier for our rotational grazing. The video is already up on YouTube

Hopefully I'll have D-Tube up to date by next week. I'm only 2 videos behind now.

We had good success when the ground was dry by running extra wires and hooking them up to the earth side of the energiser. It was more of a pain to set up, but we had no more escapees. I think it would work well for pigs too, especially if you trained them too be afraid of the fence from young.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34