You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy Mother's Day and happy a #sublimesunday in the garden dreaming of my projects.

In the US the most popular are called "hen and chicks" in the UK they use the proper latin name sempervivum or house leeks. These are a good 'gateway' plant into succulents. They are low growing and cool almost geometric and you can just pull off their little 'chicks' (babies) and put in a pot of grit and low quality soil with good drainage and they root. They are very hard to kill. SO many varieties though and great colours cool blue/green, bright chartreuse. Check them out!

Sort:  

Awwww!! They sound amazing too haha! I bet we use the latin name here in Canada, I don't know what looks I'd get if I asked the garden store for hen and chicks hahaha!!

I'm not sure why, but Americans tend to use the old 'common name' for things whilst in the UK you use the latin. I like both, really.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45