Coffee with my Chickens

My chickens are getting full sized now. They are bantams all, save the white polish. The tiniest are my three little Porcelain D'uccle hens.

I have just started to really free range them these past two weeks. My new favorite thing of a morning is letting them out and having my coffee with them.

oct23chickens2.jpg

They are trained to come to my "Chick chick chick" call, so I usually keep a treat of some dried meal worms with me and whilst sipping my coffee will call out "Chick chick chick" and they come a running. This little hen, still unamed, is my favorite she is the bravest and the first to get a treat from me. She is a Lavender (self-blue) bantam Cochin and she has two sisters and there are also two roosters of this breed.

oct23chickens3.jpg

So, in all I have five bantam Lav cochins (three hens two roos) Two full sized white polish hens and three Porcelain D'uccle (which are true bantams and thus very tiny).

oct23chickens1.jpg

I was lucky to only end up with two roosters, as I hatched all these myself (well with an incubator I mean I didn't sit on them). I had originally thought I'd give one of the roos to a family member, or local farm, but the two get along so well. And, as they are tiny, when they free range, having two roos really pays off.

Yesterday our neighbour came by and her dog got off the leash and charged them, they all scattered. The two roos rounded them all back up in the end. And I have witnessed them guarding the flock from either end and with the smallest sound or odd movement, the pair of them make their panic cry and the hens dash for cover, they are hilarious to see run.

Over all I am very happy with this year's hatch. Now, in a few months, I hope to start getting eggs. I also have a some quail in process, but that is another post.

Have a happy day and I hope it is filled with chickens, coffee and sunshine :)

oct23chickens4.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @donnadavisart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Omg they are soooooooooooo cute!!

Thank you, I am pretty happy with my chicken choice this year. The two polish are just random, but the lav cochin bantams I am excited. This color breeds true, so their offspring will be 100% this amazing dusty grey/blue. They are really lovely in the sun. And my porcelain belgian d'uccle also carry that same gene, so curious to see what their offspring will be like when they are older breed with the lav cochin roos. I'm obsessed with chickens ;) I have some quail on the way that I need to post about. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44