HOMESTEADING: Pot-planting spices!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hi Steemit peeps! I have decided today that I will share to you one of my favorite hobbies when I'm at home. One of those is gardening and pot-planting! I was considered as a green thumb by my late grannies for as long as I can remember. I also remember my late granny always asking me to plant seedlings and such.

We used to have eggplants, okra, string beans and a lot pechays in out front yard. The soil from up in the mountains that was washed away had made our pechays grow big, green leaves. One pechay was enough for a pot of stew.

WP_20180425_13_26_40_Pro (3).jpg

First we have is Coriander. I got the packets of seedlings from my aunt, who is currently living in England. She had bought these back in the Philippines last year during her visit. These little sprouts are about 2 weeks old now. The following photo is what's written in the packet:

WP_20180426_13_00_25_Pro.jpg

For the second one, we have atsal. It is called bell pepper in English but unlike the expensive bell peppers we see in supermarkets and groceries, these are small and are in triangular-pointy shape. It's pretty cheap too.

WP_20180425_13_26_54_Pro (2).jpg

I got the seedlings from the atsal itself and dried it for a few days before I planted it. There's should be a lot of them but the ants had found their way to the pot and slowly ate the seeds one by one. But at least four of them survived. Hooray!

I also tried planting Rosemary but nothing grew out of the seeds that I planted along with them.

I have also planted various types of flowers and cacti and I'll be sharing them here in steemit in about a week or two or when they grow. There are about 12-13 of them, I think. And I'm excited on how those buddies will turn out! That would be all. See ya next time!

Photos taken with a Nokia Lumia 550 by yours truly.

Sort:  

Hey @dnnjyz
i saw your post its great you should use this service for more upvotes: http://postup4all.gq/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48