HOMESTEADING: Baking COOKIES!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hi Steemit friends! It's time for another blog!

So earlier today, the whole family went out. It was all sudden when grandma asked me if I wanted to go too. So in a rush, I just changed my shorts and didn't even bother to comb my hair or do my brows. Then jumped to the car.

We went to a fast food restaurant to eat lunch near @asbonclz's apartment and then we went to the mall to buy groceries. Upon arriving, mom asked me to pick the things I wanted to buy. I didn't really have anything in mind but then I was in the baking goods section so I decided to buy baking stuff and to bake COOKIES!

Below are the things I picked at the grocery store and the ingredients for today's Chocolate Chip Cookies!

IMG_20171017_182938[1].jpg

  1. 1 cup of softened butter (dice it if you want)
  2. 2 eggs
  3. 2 cups chocolate chips (you can add as much as you like)
  4. 1/2 tsp. of salt
  5. 1 tsp. baking soda
  6. 2 tsp. vanilla
  7. 1 cup brown sugar
  8. 1/2 regular sugar
  9. 2 cups all purpose flour

STEP 1

In a mixing bowl (or any big bowl), combine your softened butter, brown sugar and then the regular sugar.

IMG_20171017_183405[1].jpg

Mix them together using a hand mixer, a stand mixer or a wire whip. Result should be like the picture shown below. Sorry if the picture below is a batter with the eggs. I forgot to take a picture of the batter itself.

IMG_20171017_184151[1].jpg

After that, add your eggs one at a time in a different bowl. This method will prevent small debris of eggshell from getting in to your batter. After doing so, add them to your batter and then next is your vanilla. Mix them together.

IMG_20171017_184248[1].jpg

In a different mixing bowl, combine your flour (sift if necessary), salt and baking soda. You can do this ahead even before making your batter. Mix your dry ingredients thoroughly.

collage.jpg

Add your combined dry ingredients to your batter in three portions. This helps avoid lumps in the process. Result should be like the picture shown below.

IMG_20171017_185358[1].jpg

Be careful not to over mix your batter. Add your desired amount of chocolate chips.

IMG_20171017_185629[1].jpg

You can either mix them using a hand mixer or just fold it using a rubber spatula.

IMG_20171017_190002[1].jpg

Preheat the oven at around 160 to 180 degrees celsius. Scoop them to a baking sheet using a spoon or an ice cream scooper to have even sizes of cookies. Put them in the oven for about 10 minutes.

IMG_20171017_191139[1].jpg

I actually made a mistake of putting them too close to each other. So remember to put them around 2 INCHES APART or else you'll have cookies that look like slices of loaf bread.

But anyways, VOILA!

cookie.jpg

PS. Got broken cookies because of my mistake of putting them too close to each other.

Images taken with a Lenovo A536.

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Till next time!
-Dianne

Sort:  

Baking used to be my past time when my sister was still alive.

Thank you for the recipe @dnnjyz. Broken or not it does look yummy!.

Wow nindota ahh :)

Hey 👋 Great post! I actually love baking too. I've posted some bakings stuffs on my blog too. I'm actually a Filipina too and I finished my college degree in IIT. Keep up the good work! Hope you'd follow back too. See you around!

Congratulations @dnnjyz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84