Wormwood For Dogs

in #homesteading7 years ago

IMG_20160426_181444 (2).jpg

My dogs have a tendency so earn their keep here on the homestead. They keep all kinds of critters out and away from the chickens and rabbits. These two above are, on the left, Brandi Dog, and on the right, Dusty Rooster. They are a little older than this picture now, but I think that this picture captures their personalities pretty well.

Brandi Dog recently has gotten very skinny. Since taking them to the vet is way outside of the budget, I have been seeking alternative ways to treat her. First, I am pretty sure I know what she has gotten herself into. She started getting skinny a few weeks ago when the chickens went back into egg laying mode. She treats herself to some eggs when no one is looking. Well needless to say, I have caught her seeking out the random egg some chicken laid outside of her pen. As you know the chickens lay their eggs where they think it is safe to do so. So these particular chickens lay eggs under the porch where they poop as well.

The eggs we gather from under the porch are usually covered in chicken poop and are washed and put in the fridge. Well I know Brandi goes under there and eats these dirty eggs. I am sure she has gotten worms. So I remembered that the main use for wormwood is de-worming. What I didn't know is that wormwood has been used for centuries to de-worm dogs. It has also been used and researched as a cancer treatment and cure for cancer in dogs! According to YourOldDog.com:

Apparently for dogs with cancer, scientists in Seattle have discovered that an extract from the wormwood plant can >actually search out and destroy several types of cancer cells while leaving normal cells healthy. If your dog has cancer, I >recommend that you read more about this amazing breakthrough!

If you have ever tried wormwood, you know that the herb is extremely bitter. It leaves a taste in your moth for a long time, and only time washes it out. So I used the suggested dose, which I verified on a few different websites, of about a teaspoon of dried wormwood once per day for three days. She definitely did not like the taste as she tried to spit it out almost immediately. So I stuck it in her mouth, put my hand over her mouth and pet her until she swallowed.

I will do one more round next week and make sure she is back to gaining weight. I will do a follow-up post so share the results in the following weeks. I will also be adding a segment to my plant posts for animal uses.

Recommended dosage for dogs:

One quarter teaspoon once per day of dried herb
Do not exceed three days of treatment as it can harm the dogs organs
1/8 teaspoon of alcohol tincture per day as an alternative to the dried herb

I used a fresh picked leaf, about the size of a teaspoon, which, when dried, would be about 1/4 teaspoon. I like the use of fresh herbs since there is no volatile oil loss, and the benefits seem to be better than dried herbs. I sure hope she gets better. I will take her to the vet if absolutely necessary but for now I'll do some praying.

Well please up-vote and follow if you like my content. I will continue to post similar articles on plants, homegrown foods, gardening and homesteading ideas. Again thanks for dropping in. Remember that this is not medical advice nor do I prescribe anything to anyone. This post is for educational purposes only. Your body is your temple, treat it well. Have a great garden!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

WHAT great information!
I am growing wormwood this coming spring in the herb garden and am real happy to hear it can be used by dogs.

yes! there are quite a few herbs that can be used medicinally by dogs and other animals. In my post https://steemit.com/homesteading/@derekfreeman/turnips-uses-and-benefits @granolalight mentioned using turnips to feed cattle, and it got me to thinking about the use of all different kinds of garden supplements for the animals. So after I had been using the wormwood, I thought well heck there must be a million different herb uses for animals, and, well, that was correct a quick search revealed lots of different ways to treat ailments for animals right out of the garden.

This is why I LOVE it when people share information. There is so much information that has been hidden from us for so long and if it wasn't for the internet, no one would know about it. I am not sure what the law in the USA are about wormwood these days, but back about 30 years ago, it was actually illegal to sell wormwood for anything other than making incense out of it. My friend that owned a health food store carried it, but he had to include a big sign on the front that started it was illegal for him to sell it for human consumption.

Figures! Well i mostly use it for its anti bug qualities. But I do nibble on it once in a while to help with, overall, digestion. Plus, we rarely eat bitters anymore, and they used to be a part of our diet. Yarrow is a great one too.

Hello @derekfreeman,

You have received upvote from @steempeninsula account courtesy of @bob-elr, and team.

keep writing good content.

Upvote and resteem our posts to help us grow our account.

Follow @steempeninsula and you may contact on us on [Discord] for any enquiry.

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

I dehydrate it and use it for the layers in winter, to keep the worm load down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58