DYI Water Tower

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20160426_174947 (2).jpg

I certainly have the need for water. I have done quite a bit of research on the topic and found that watering animals and gardens are far better using ground or rain water. Using well or city water does not have the effect that ground or rain does, and nothing has the effect of rain. So when planning my garden, I was going to build a platform in the trees, but, by chance, I got gifted some railroad ties.

0501161343.jpg

So cut the ties to my desired length, then stood them up equidistant to the dimensions of a pallet. I tied them together with 2x6 treated lumber in order to keep it from leaning. I pitched it slightly to the front to ensure no pond left inside when I run it dry. I also added some cardboard underneath the tote in order to assure a frontward slope. I used 3/4 inch plywood as a deck and secured the pallet on top of that.

20180223_084957.jpg

You can see now (this picture taken today) I will need to go through and reset the slope on the tote. Over time the tower has settled. Since a full tank weight is over a ton, well 8x275=2200 lbs, overtime the legs sink down.

20180223_085016 (2).jpg

As you can see here the legs are quite parallel. I have them set so that the weight is distributed in such a way that keeps the stability of the structure a bit more firm. I guess the same way you see large towers built with a wider base.

20180309_133201.jpg

I never got around to closing it in because I decided to keep it open as not to allow moisture buildup. I did though put some sheeting up because I store a few things under it. Also I use a ladder to pump in water (do not attempt this at home, lol). The water Is currently the water I get from a stream that runs just down in the ravine from my ridge.

20180309_134632 (2).jpg

The pump Is a standard transfer pump that can mange small debris. It is def not rocket science, it does take a little bit of planing and reading about weight distribution. Other than that, easy-peazy.

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

You can also benefit and support the cause by using the upvote bot @greengrowth.

Minimum bids from 0.01 SBD! The early adopters of this new bot have been receiving 100% upvotes! Wow!

Super sturdy, looks great man! That'd give my gravity fed propane hot shower some good pressure! Thank you for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99