My Organic Rooftop Garden Using Recycled Plastic Containers

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

My Organic Rooftop Garden Using Recycled Plastic Containers

21272345_10208111308420771_8810784034138546358_n.jpg


After I gave birth to our precious baby girl, just a few months after the pregnancy and labor journey, and by the time I started giving her solid foods was then the ripening of such a fascinating idea of GROWING FOODS THE ORGANIC WAY IN MY OWN PLACE! sprouted like a healthy beginning. And from that single and plain idea, I eventually started the basic stuff in which leads me to the question of ''Where should I put my home garden?''. Considering that we have just moved to a place that we don't have enough space and soil beds to grow my plants and vegetables. Those first months were just like a 'trial and error' jump-off and it is so awkward to say this- 'I almost give up the GREEN FLAG!'.

IMG_20160211_154339_168.JPG
Before our rooftop turned into a garden, there was a baby who loves to meditate seriously

Aside from having a small empty rooftop place and meditated into a such a hollow venue, so much more thoughts sprouted in my head, esprit d’escalier has risen up accompanied with bitter thoughts. Good thing St. Fiacre, the patron saint of gardeners, visited me in an unusual setup and then helped me rise up the 'GREEN FLAG' on the top of the hill!

And the next thing I know, I just found myself stunningly scrolling the Pinterest page and other sites that are full of gardening tips USING RECYCLED CONTAINERS.

IMG_6831.jpg
I cut those 6 liters recycled plastic water bottles in half so that I may able to plant more

IMG_6832.jpg

IMG_6858.jpg
My very helpful 'not so old and not so rusty' gardening tools ever since

IMG_6857.jpg
My new babies! Thanks to @speaklife for giving me such a wonderful christmas gift.

aloe.jpg
Those containers were my baby's empty milk cans, I planted my fave natural head to foot skin care plant - aloe vera and some onion leaves too

I then casually gathered few tools that I will need as a beginner in the gardening field and maneuver those money-saving recycled containers from my neighbors and some other empty milk cans and empty water bottles of my baby.

IMG_20160122_090039_331.jpg
Tsaaraan! a picture of our 'empty' rooftop before with a skinny girl on the center, and a picture of our rooftop garden now with a chubby yet healthy model on the center, LOL!

When everything was all well set up, I never noticed I already possessed a FRESH ORGANIC OPEN FOOD VAULT in my rooftop garden!

IMG_6843.jpg
Look how happy we are when we harvested our very healthy and super big Kafirr lime

With all the organic plants that surround us now and gives us the fresh air to breathe, we do have now the perfect place to bond.

IMG_6893.jpg

IMG_6916.jpg
In case you are wondering, this pretty little girl in the picture is still the baby a few years ago that you have just seen above. She is now happily playing around my rooftop garden, helping me water the plants and most of all she is now eating all the veggies we harvested


Here are some of my other 'beautifully captured' vegetables and flowers on my rooftop garden.


Bitter gourd plant on a recycled container set up on an old broken shoe rack

IMG_20171014_172513.jpg

IMG_20171014_091806.jpg

Giant Kafiir Lime

IMG_20171014_171749.jpg

My thick and healthy all time head to toe skin care plant, Aloe Vera.

IMG_6833.jpg

Eggplant

tal.jpg

Peppers

pper.jpg

Ginger

IMG_20171014_172046.jpg

Chili Peppers

IMG_20171014_171853.jpg

Calamansi

IMG_6134.jpg

Cherry Tomato

IMG_20171014_171718.jpg

I also have here my mint collection that I have been so obsessed with!

21317752_10208111232898883_4649153875487999480_n.jpg

My Sunshine Lover Friends

IMG_6835.jpg

My Smiling Flowers

17862507_10207154376178063_7868386413545302908_n.jpg


And by the way, my potting soil recipe is consist of plain garden soil, compost, little amount of coir fiber and just almost 10% of dried naturally treated animal manures. I don't use any kind of harmful fertilizers to them, I just water them when needed and check them up whenever there are worms and other pests lurking around; I then just pick those worms and unwanted pests with my own hands using gardening gloves

IMG_6884.jpg


My rooftop garden really did give us the perfect view for a paradise to enjoy with my family and friends whenever we wanted to experience unforgettable memories together.

Like...

Rooftop Wedding Anniversary Dinner Date with My Ohana

20293062_10160341167520206_8352245628406643820_n.jpg

Overnight Rooftop Camping Under the Stars

rooft.jpg

Unexpected Girl's Foodtrip Get Together

26733736_10209485421847109_832685438250454904_n.jpg

And the last but not the least...

Best place for my selfie session!

IMG_6907.jpg


THAT'S ALL FOR NOW AND THANK YOU FOR DROPPING BY! DON'T FORGET TO LEAVE YOUR SWEET COMMENTS BELOW! SEE YAH AROUND!

IMG_6876.jpg


HAPPY GARDENING!


════ ∘◦❁◦∘ ═══
For more blogs of mine click this LINK!
════ ∘◦❁◦∘ ═══
I am encouraging everyone to kindly vote & support @surpassinggoogle
By typing @steemgigs as YOUR WITNESS HERE
Like @teardrops on:
Facebook/teardropstokens and on Twitter/teardropstokens
════ ∘◦❁◦∘ ═══
As well as typing @blocktrades @precise @cloh76.witness @curie
IN THIS LINK!
════ ∘◦❁◦∘ ═══
If you find something awesome about this post you can surely resteem it.
You can also join our ever supportive group the ‘STEEMITACHIEVERS’ on Discord just click the link below
STEEMITACHIEVERS DISCORD
════ ∘◦ 🌸 deeday31 🌸◦∘ ═══

DQmTnYAkWSrhwuRTA8P97xruy6hScLrNtMsoWPxCu5rF7a7.png

Sort:  

Amazing! Such dedication ate @deeday31. Pag may sipag at tiyaga talaga may nilaga. I admire your creativity and innovation. Pwd na mag pinakbet kasi available na lahat ng gulay hehehe :)

thank you :) sana magka free time ka din gumawa ng garden mo :) ang sarap ng feeling

How lovely. I love gardening myself and this is real inspiring to me. Love love <3

Im so happy knowing that many of us here loves gardening too sis

amazing!! i am fascinated with gardening too, since walang space at wala kaming rooftop cactus na lang sa table..haha!

good job friend!

super ok na yun sis!! nag papatanggal stress din yun :)

Wow galing galing ni mommy. Keep it up mommy and baby. X

thank you sooo much po!

Wow, this is impressive! I really like that you used recycled materials, and everything looks amazing! Keep us updated with the progress of your garden :)

yeah sure! i wil! thank you for dropping by! :)

What an amazing space @deeday31. That's incredible what you've grown in recycled containers.

I love that you enjoy the space for social get togethers too as well as for rowing food. Very inspriring!

thank you soo much for your kind words! I am so happy I showered some inspiration to you maam :)

Super amazing gardening going on in thus post! What an awesome wonderland you have created :)
I'm big on using recycled materials in my garden to, my greenhouse is full of 5 gallon buckets for growing :)
Thank you for this fin photo journey!

WOW!!! you are too an inspiration maam! from now on I will be following you posts! :) God bless!

Ive always wanted to plant those chili peppers, tomatoes and other vegies but mine never gets the result I wanted and just died eventually... they always tell me I dont have green hands :(

its okay! its been months also that I have been searching and contemplating on how on earth will i able to grow plants with my bare hands! just one 'not so' secret tip from ''TRY TALKING TO THEM EVERYDAY OR SING THEM A SONG OR PLAY MUSIC IN YOU BACkYARD' , im sure your plants will reward you with good harvest! :)

Ang sarap tingnan pag namumunga na. Gusto ko rin magtanim tanim pero direct sa lupa hindi sa rooftop kasi tamad ako hahaha

kaya mo yan sis!! :)

Ka-amazing oy! My mom and dad are huge fans of gardening but I am the total opposite. I tried to get into it by purchasing a cactus. It died -_- I don't have a green thumb. Who in the world (other than me) can make a cactus die??? I did my best with it. Cactus are low-maintenance, right? Because they don't need to be watered all the time. But mine still died. So yep, I, therefore, conclude I don't have a green thumb and can't grow plants haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82