You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LOVE is When TWO TRAILERS Come Together - The Bull Is HERE!

in #homesteading6 years ago

What proportion of your cattle's food will you be able to produce on the homestead as opposed to buying off site? That's one of the vexing questions in my mind as we plan our homestead. We know from experience that we can greatly supplement our chicken, turkey, and rabbit food. I'm not sure if we could justify keeping goats, and I'm pretty sure cattle would be a "no-go" for our location and situation.

Sort:  

I'm not sure where you are. But around here this is one of the biggest reasons to get my dozer up and running. I have enough pasture to feed my animals but I need to connect them all in a fashion where fencing can be improved. Then I will have enough food for the cattle and sheep. Mostly we just buy hay from our neighbors in the winter. It is usually available in great abundance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44