Why And How To Soak Rolled Oats For Oatmeal

in #homesteading6 years ago

I always soak organic rolled oats overnight before making oatmeal for my daughters in the morning. Oatmeal is my younger daughter's favorite breakfast. I can just hear her 2 year old voice now saying "O-meal O-meal!". Here I will show you how to do it and why the heck you would want to do it in the first place!

Soaking grains and nuts is a great way to make digesting their nutrients easier. Grains and nuts have phytic acid, the plant's way of preserving the precious seed. Phytic acid can be very irritating for the gut lining and also makes the nutrients harder to absorb (vitamins and minerals). If you are spending your time and money on healthy whole grains and nuts (seeds too!) then you want to get the most out of them. This simple extra set doesn't take much time at all and makes the end result even yummier!

As a rule of thumb you want to soak grains in an acid, and nuts in salt. For grains that I will be making sweet I soak with yogurt, whey, or kefir (see my previous post on how to make kefir!), and for foods like rice that will be savory I use apple cider vinegar or lemon juice. For nuts and seeds I always use sea salt or pink Himalayan salt.

(above) First you want to place your oats in a glass bowl and add two tablespoons of kefir (or yogurt, or whey). This was about two cups of oats.

Second you will cover the oats with filtered water and leave at room temperature over night.

In the morning you will strain and rinse the oats. Then they are ready for cooking as usuall! They wont need quite as much water to cook in. If this is your first time cooking soaked oats and you find that you have added too much water let it simmer in the pot with the lid off for a little while to let the water evaporate.

If I eat grains with sugar I always make sure to pair them with plenty of healthy fats. Fats slow the absorption of sugar and carbs, reducing insulin spikes. Here I added grassfed butter, raw cream, maple syrup and a raw egg yolk from a local amish farm. This breakfast sustained me for the majority of the day!

Have any of you soaked grains before? Do you find it makes them lighter and fluffier? My husband loves when I cook white rice that has been soaked over night. The result is a fluffy rice that cooks quick- no fancy rice cooker needed.

Sort:  

That does look good :)
I've got a small quantity of oats stored away just in of an unforeseen eventuality but never soaked them before.

Just the old way for me,. oats, milk and a microwave ;)

I should make them with milk next time instead of water, that sounds yummy.

Yup, and a drop of honey to :)

I don't necessarily soak the grains, but I do make a yogurt, kefir milk overnight oats breakfast deal. One of the other homesteaders (@karenfoster) made a post weeks ago and I have been a faithful eater of them.

Oh nice I am going to check out her blog, thank you! I like overnight oats too! I had tried it with chia seeds before but quickly found out that chia seeds and I dont agree :P

Very good! We're soakers at our house too!

Oatmeal was a success, every drop eaten! (besides my older daughter who actually doesn't like oatmeal, i think its the texture.)

My older son when through a long phase of not liking it either- defintely was a texture thing. have you ever tried cooking it with dates? Its amaaaazzziiinnngggg...

ooooooh that sounds great I wonder if she would like it better that way because she loves dates! I will do this and report back :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55