Bragging Rights: Splitting Kindling

in #homesteading7 years ago

I just hopped on here to brag a little. I am learning to use a hand axe and have been struggling to use it. My husband has shown me some tips and today I got a good amount split for kindling! It felt pretty good! I was very proud of myself because it was cold today and we needed a fire in the house. If anyone has any tips for a beginner please comment below. Safety first! I always place the piece of wood at the back of the splitting round to catch the axe if it goes through the wood cleanly it will have lots of room to catch. Since it is a short hand axe it can be easy to hit your shin with.

Sort:  

Kudos to you for learning to split wood!

thanks! very satisfying indeed.

very good! I like to set my blade on top of a log and then tap the back of the blade down with a "hammer log".... multiple times, splitting off pieces of kindling one by one till the logs all split up...

I've been [racticing that too!

Oh, you are badass! I am still afraid to chop wood.....maybe I will attempt it again this spring!!

Ray Mears on YouTube has a lot of great short vids on how to use an axe and safety tips! Safety is my top priority because I don't wana get an injury when I am home alone with the kids!

I can tell you what not to do. Which is hit yourself in the back of the head with one, Like I did as a kid.. which come to think of it explains a few things..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42