Great and Weird Chicken Breed: The Silkie

in #homesteading6 years ago

(Image source)

The Silkie (or Silky) is an ornamental chicken breed named for its usually fluffy plumage, which is said to feel just like silk and satin. The breed has several other strange qualities, such as black skin, meat and bones, and five toes on each foot, while most chickens only have four. They appear in various colors and are always exhibited in poultry shows.

The origin of the Silkie is not certain although they have been around for several centuries. It is thought that they might have originated in India, China or Japan and they arrived in Europe around 200 years ago where they were sold as a freaky crossbreed of rabbits and chickens.

Known as the ‘lap kitty’ of the chicken world, the Silkie has a wonderful gentle and calm nature, as they are easy to tame and love to receive a little good loving care from their owners, making them a nice family pet. Unfortunately, they are not very good layers due to their size, and will only produce around 100 small eggs a year. But they make great brooding mothers for any chicks. The Silkie deals particularly well with confinement and does not fly. Silkies can be eaten for meat just as any other breed, however they do tend to be a lean bird with not much weight.

Sort:  

this is chicken i havent seen like this type of chicken😋

Loading...

Beautiful chicken. I have never seen a chicken like this and I see where it would be a great brooder for young chicks. Thanks for sharing.

I love silkies, I have had many in my time. I hatched a few this past season, but lost all but one to a fox :( The one survivor now lives at my Mother in laws happily. I have some other interesting breeds, though. I have both cochin bantams in a rare colour called self-blue or lavender and a pair of porcelain d'uccle, which are a small breed of chicken whose colouring is delicate like coloured porcelain. THey are pets but make great eggs! I also have quail too!

New follower to boot!

Wow, that is interesting. Thanks for sharing.

That's a hugely odd chicken... makes me think hairdressers could benefit from having a coop of those in order to practice hairdos.
Heh.
Cheers!

That is very interesting insight. Thank you.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

They are sooo adorable!!! I've never seen like this before thank you for sharing. Makes me want to have a pet like that..

wow what a beautiful breed of 🐔chicken i love the hair, by the way sir @darthnava is that a hair or feather? but it looks like a hair.

Looks like a thin feather.

A crossbreed of rabbits and chickens... is that for real?! :O Sounds scary, a bit... Pretty darn cute though, if I do say so myself! Nice post~

Dumb pet sellers in Europe would advertised it like that in those days.

That's super strange, definitely. :P

It's a beautiful chicken breed and I presume that it came from the arctic region because of it's thick plumage that really is for colder climate areas.

Actually, the feathers on their legs make them ill suited for winter weather. They freeze easily causing death from hypothermia. Sadly.

Mommy, please don't do it with me ever and never!

Very interesting looking creatures!

Yes, strange indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94