Great Chicken Breed: The Plymouth Rock

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

(Image source)

The Plymouth Rock is an American breed of domestic chicken. It was first seen in Massachusetts in the nineteenth century, and and is one of the most popular dual purpose chickens.

The Plymouth Rock chicken’s feathers come in many colors from buff to black and brown to white, the most popular choice for farmers is the pretty barred variety. These feathers are great to look at, bold black and white stripes contrast beautifully with the soft red combs and yellow beaks and feet. All in all it makes the plumage pretty.

Introduced in the late 1900s, the breed was named after a famous place in Massachusetts and became popular across the U.S.A due to their egg laying production and tasty meat.

The Plymouth Rock is one of the best chicken breeds for beginners to raise. They are known for having one of the best personalities of all chicken breeds, being very docile, placid and friendly, and are tolerant to being handled-making them good pets for children. They can lay up to 200 brown eggs a year. They fare well in both confinement and free-range environments, so will adapt well to any surrounding a poultry raiser can provide them with. .

Video by farmercody14




Sources: www.backyardchickencoops.com.au/5-reasons-to-love-plymouth-rock-chickens



Follow me as @darthnava: "Behind every Steemian is a troll rolling his eyes."

Sort:  

@darthnava sir..
Buff Orpington chickens have white legs, Ameraucana breed has slate colored shanks and Auracan chicken breed has willow colored shanks. Some chicken breed also have hair on their shanks that provide a clue for identifying them. Cochin is such a chicken breed which has feathers on their legs...
I think home steading is very useful to us...
Wel done sir..
Cheers~~~

Thanks for the info.

i love chicken ^^, thanks for sharing bro, astig kayo history ba sa manok ^^nga gikan
sa amirika..astig bro..Upvoted

I always enjoy your close look at the animal wold!

Thanks for stopping by, @kus-knee!

BACK IN OLD DAYS, My father used to breed chicken, I saw one of this colors,

Nice breed of chicken. I am not used to the taste of native chicken but if I would be the one to cook it my way then I could probably eat it.
We have a chicken hee in my backyard which was given by my uncle I probably have to get a photo of it.

I love chicken very much and thanks for sharing

very interesting seeing this breed for the very first time thanks for sharing information about that

I didn't realize chickens layed so many eggs. I know what my starter chicken will be; this American classic.

Hen has a great benefit in human life we ​​can not live without hen

wow so pretty look these hen and good to share some about its details

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81