Poppy Flowers on the Farm!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Several years ago our neighbor gave us a handful of Poppy seeds from his own garden. The kids and I sprinkled these seeds around the farm. Each year since then we've seen a few more flowers than the year before. We love them!

We have noticed that the flowers do better when they are allowed to reseed on their own. The seeds that we scatter in placed we really actually want them... don't do as well LOL.

Here's the first to bloom on the Daddykirbs Farm for 2018!

Do you grow Poppies? Do you have a secret to increase the germination and survival rate?

I will add this... Don't let your goats out when the Poppies are growing! They love them too ;)



Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!



Win $10 SBD!

Don't forget to head over to my weekly "Cool Curator" Contest!

https://steemit.com/contest/@daddykirbs/be-a-cool-curator-a-daddykirbs-contest-to-win-usd10-sbd-9-week-8-winner-announced

Sort:  

Beautiful! Glad to see when seeds do it all on their own!

Yep. I haven't seen too many bees on the Poppy flowers, but other pollinators like them. I'm not sure how true it is, but I heard that bees don't see or like red.

Plant a field of them and sleep well at night! @ironshield

I have been cursed in my efforts to grow poppies. A friend's daughter has tons of them growing at her place and she let me dig up clumps of them and take them to mt own garden.

I had help in the following spring and the helpers thought the poppy seedling growing were weeds and pulled out every single one! That year I got poppy seeds and planted them all over the place and not one grew.

I'm trying again this year.

Keep at it! You'll get poppies someday :)

The goats eat to probably get high.

miscreants LOL

Yup. They're beautiful I already see them popping up with the pre-bulbs.

The red poppies are the prettiest. Mainly I see white poppies around here. 🐓🐓

I would like to have a variety, but so far they are all red.

I wonder if one color dominates therefore, you don’t often see mixed fields of poppies unless it is a fresh planting. Just sayin....🐓🐓

I do not grow them but thanks for sharing!

wow beautiful photo. The flower is adorable @daddykirbs!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49