Mulberry Jelly - From Tree to Table!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Ok, I'm getting ahead of myself with that title. I did make Mulberry Jelly using the berries from my own tree, but I'm not ready to share the jelly process or recipe yet. Not quite yet. That's coming soon.

Collecting Mulberries on the farm has been a lot of fun! Take a look at this post to see a cute video that involves my grandson. He's the best "Mulberry Fighter" there is! (You might understand that better after watching the video.)

My special needs son Luke helped me collect Mulberries on Sunday, but really didn't like doing it because it turned his hands purple LOL! He told me several times "My hands are purple", then would just look at his hands and not pick berries. We got him cleaned up so he could be happy again :)

Once the berries were brought into the kitchen we processed them to separate the pulp from the juice. I'll give details on that in the video that will be about the process. So far I've collected over a gallon of juice and loads of pulp that is being frozen in cubes to use in smoothies.

I look forward to sharing so much more with you about this fun, tasty and rewarding job on the farm very soon!



Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!



Win $20 SBD + 5 STEEM!

Don't forget to head over to my weekly "Cool Curator" Contest!

https://steemit.com/contest/@daddykirbs/win-prize-pool-10-sbd-5-steem-cool-curator-contest-11-plus-winner-from-week-10

Sort:  

That looks like it is going to be so good come the hot dog days of summer! Sharing...

Ooh daddykirbs I remember picking mulberrys as a child and I hated my stained hands. My gran tried to make jam which really didn't jell but we spread it on our bread anyway. It was delicious, success or not.

So it was very tasty Mulberry syrup! I'm so glad you shared that memory with me :)

Yum! We have a tiny voluntary mulberry tree on our fence line (in town). It had a few green berries last year, but i think the birds ate them :/

This looks very tasty!

It really is! The jelly turned out perfectly. I can't wait to share that video :)

I still have a jar full of mulberries in the fridge 😋 maybe I’ll mix up some pie crust today and make filling out of the berries.

Totally do that! Take pictures and post here on steemit. (hashtag daddykirbs LOL)

Hi Luke! Hope you are feeling a bit better.
I have never had mulberry anything. 😕

Oh no! You need to experience purple fingers and mulberry jelly!

I wanted to grow mulberry but was told by someone that birds eat the berries and make a mess on cars and homes. I got scared. Have you ever had problems like that with mulberries?

Well the birds do eat it and it does turn their poop purple. In a neighborhood that might be a bit of a concern, but the birds are going to poop on your car no matter what so I say grow the tree! LOL

I am not in a cookie cutter neighborhood, so I think I am going to give it a try. Thanks for the encouragement!

Hello @daddykirbs , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is ✅ "rocky1"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem has 25.500 Followers + 7000 Sp + Upvote with min +55 accounts.

I am a bot, I can not answer the comment. I hope I could help. Good luck.

I got one of these for herbal ectraction use, but it is made to extract juice. You will get more juice from the berries, but there will be nothing left for smoothies, only for compost

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steam_juicer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78