Garden Crops in December! - I love Texas

in #homesteading7 years ago

This will likely be the last haul of tomatoes for this year. These were hiding out in a plant that has been neglected for a while. It was a nice surprise to go visit her and get this gift. The tomatoes tasted fantastic!

The pepper plants are looking strong and still producing too. We have not yet had our first frost for this year. If this nice weather keeps up I'll likely be getting peppers through the new year! I've been making stir fry, salsa and fermented peppers sauce.


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

What a blessing to still have those!

Thank you! The tomatoes were a surprise. I really forgot about that plant LOL

To say I am jealous is an understatement.
Looks great!

We're expecting some snow flurries here come Wednesday.. Keep telling my husband we need to move south... south... south

Yes! In August I'm tempted to move North, but most of the year I love living down here.

Psst @daddykirbs that is when you take a vacation and go north!

Hehehehe now your getting it....

Hahaha....see.... South envy too!!
Don't wave that finger at me! ;-D

Looks great Blake! Wish I could do that here in Central IL! I am looking to try to grow a few things indoors over the winter. Have not tried that before and figured it was worth trying! Might try a pepper plant or something around that size. Just need to find a way to extend my growing season some.

Keep your soil warm and keep a good light on it and you should do fine. I look forward to seeing it all in a steemit post!

I am trying to be better about capturing moments so that I can have something to post about. I am also trying to post more often, I was at once a week now I think I have it up to at least a couple of posts a week now. I do believe one of my next posts will be about all the apples I processed. Hopefully I can get that one out tomorrow.

By the way just wanted to say Thanks!! for whatever posts you might have checked out and a BIG thanks for the upvote you did recently!

Cool! Now that my wife had retired, we are thinking about other states to buy Homestead properties instead of here in New York. Texas is on the short list. It’s a big State and we need to visit, just to check out the varied areas. My only experience is the San Antonio region from my Air Force days forty years ago.

I'm just outside SA to the NE. It's a great area. You'd be welcome to visit my little farm if you make a trip down here :)

Cool. Thanks for the invite! Also on the short list are Tennessee and the southern Ohio area. Will probably explore those next summer.

Southern TN, northern GA and northern Alabama on our list. Nothing like the mountains to wake up to every morning

We came back from a wedding in Hendersonville NC through eastern Tennessee several years ago. It was a pretty drive.

I do love the mountains.

Palestine has some gorgeous Pine Forest Hills!!

But it will be a whole different world than New York.... definitely visit during the hottest months to be sure you can take it!! (Or end of June as things start to get dry and HOT....July and August are hotter, but you can acclimate!)

Thanks for the advice. Checked Palestine out on google maps, there’s a community nearby called Tennessee colony. Must be fate!

Texas is the place that I would love to be!!

Our last red tomatoes were harvested 1 month ago.

What? Not fond of our Michigan? lol

Shhhhh.... Your not supposed to see me moonlighting! Lol!

I can do without the 4 month winter!!

But we did actually have a really good garden this year, considering it wss our first year here and we got started 1 month late.

Every climate has it's ups and downs. Texas feels pretty good until July and August come around to burn it all up!

Trust me... I know!
I bleed Texan. Just moved to Michigan a year ago!!

This is nice to still have those. I have never seen tomatoes and pepper growing here in SA.

@seyiodus.


#Hug-Challenge!


You may join #AIR-CLINIC on discord. https://discord.gg/rqded5m

Beautiful bounty! I love it when I go out to the garden and get a surprise harvest. I especially love those "volunteers" that pop up each season.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41