You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drought Gardening | Permaculture Solutions to Climate Change (Vlog!)

in #homesteading6 years ago

I found it very interesting to listening about your move from annuals to perennials agricolture.
Climate is changing, still I'm not sure wether it's goind towards desertification: where I'm cultivating, northern Italy, we had an extremely drought year -- last year -- while this year is raining almost every single day. So at the beginning of this season I was just concerned in getting the biggest water tank that I could, to collect rain water and be ready for another drought summer. Eventually it turned out that I never had to water plants until now, as it's raining so generously.
Now I'm wondering wether the climate is changing from stable and predictable seasons towards unstable and unpredictable seasons.

Sort:  

Wow. Interesting story. I don't know where the climate is headed, but it seems to be more and more extreme. You're experiencing such an interesting phenomenon. We had the biggest flooding in hundreds of years last year, then the coldest winter in a long while and now a very hot and dry summer. I see it as you do, unpredictable. I am choosing hardy and adaptable species that can handle stress.

What are you cultivating?

I'm starting to market gardening: my largest production is that of potatoes, tomatoes, lettuce, carrots and garlic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60305.38
ETH 2447.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51