Saving bees for a living!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, last night I got a call from a chap in distress. His bees were in his electricity box and needed them removed ASAP, the bunny hugger (me) sprung into action and I got over there fast.

Upon arrival I was greeted with this glorious sight. A little swarm just moved in and working so hard already, just delightful to see. A few brand new lovely white combs already full of nectar with pollen eggs laid and a few baby bees hatching as well.

20180917_200832.jpg

I whipped out my 'bee sucker' and got to work. This unit I made about a week ago do check out that post here it really works incredibly well, no better way to safely remove bees from feral hives exists. https://steemit.com/homesteading/@craigcryptoking/bee-sucker-the-build

20180917_200841.jpg

20180917_203537.jpg

This really was an incredible sight and I feel so blessed to be apart of this amazing adventure. Here we have a little bee literally just hatched, they are about three quarters the size of an adult bee.

I swiftly removed these combs from the electrical box as I do not want to kill a single bee. I then quickly put these combs with rubber bands in the brooder box frames, so an hour or two later when I re-locate the bees to their new 'mansion' they can tend to their combs and babies as they were, Brilliant right?

20180917_203545.jpg

20180917_203540.jpg

This removal took us around 45 minutes which is really efficient based on the fact that initially took me hours to remove bees and at times not successfully at all. Smoking bees out does JUST NOT WORK. The bee sucker removes them with ease and minimal stress on the swarm.

This is what the box looked like after I was done.

20180917_203516.jpg

Here I put a little old comb from another swarm that we had spare as well as their brood comb to give them a great head start and encourage them to stay in their new hive which really works very well.

20180917_211120.jpg

20180917_211130.jpg

This picture is just totally incredible. This swarm moved in a month ago only and already they have capped brood comb with babies hatching. If you look closely here you can actually see a baby bee hatching. What an incredibly 'feel good moment'

20180917_210822.jpg

We did two swarm rescues on this night, here we have the inner box of the bee sucker with two seperate saved swarms!

20180917_210624.jpg

20180917_210628.jpg

I have tried so many things in life to be able to make ends meet and I finally feel that bee-keeping is it. I save thousands of bees per day (that would otherwise have been exterminated) and I get honey, what a dream come true ;)

Here they are within a few hours hived in a brand new home and in a Nursery (bee heaven) flowers for years for these incredible little animals!

20180918_112006.jpg

Trust you have an incredible day, be sure to stay tuned for more of my epic bee adventures!

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

We did two swarm rescues on this night, here we have the inner box of the bee sucker with two seperate saved swarms!
It should be separate instead of seperate.

Seeing baby bees hatching must've been amazing! Didn't realize that in your WA pics. Well done. Shared to @gogreenbuddy

Very cool post.! Instant upvote.

Aww thanks a ton much appreciated ;) Cheer$;)

Honey is the bee's knees

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63051.22
ETH 2471.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69