I Installed Windows in my Bee-Hives, The results are going to be extraordinary. My Quest in Becoming a Top South African Honey Producer, Part 5!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, WOW what a cool plan this is? Bee-keepers, are you out there? I would love to know your thoughts on this idea? We recently visited a bee-hive factory check out my blog here https://steemit.com/ghsc/@craigcryptoking/beehive-factory-visit-beehives-feeders-supers-brood-boxes-swarm-catchers-and-more I have always loved nature and bees my Mom and sister @buckaroo keep bees and finally I have also realized this dream.

My initial thinking was, how can I make or improve a system in order for the bees to be less disrupted as well as making life easier for myself in knowing whether the honey is ready for harvest or not! Well what better way than to actually be able to peer in to the hive any time of night or day with a bee window or two? So, that is exactly what I made.

Here we have the final result, it just made for a nice index pic, still needed to be done here are hinged window closer's, just to make sure the bees are not disrupted at all whilst we are not inspecting their activity!

Interesting right? Be sure to read on for the process..

20180825_171537.jpg

THE STARTING POINT

I had to firstly ascertain where I wanted these windows, I decided on, in the Super Boxes. The thinking behind this would be to be able to see when to harvest the honey. The brooder boxes are never harvested so looking in there would be pointless in terms of knowing when to harvest, HOWEVER, be really nice at some point for interest sake and learning purposes. The Queen Bee resides in the brooder box and I would just love to get footage of her laying eggs and generally doing what she does! I am sure in time I will install windows into the brooder boxes as well so be sure to stay tuned for that!

Here we have the first super box for me to modify. For a starting point I did two, to test, will take it from there after the initial experiment's goals are achieved!

20180825_142013.jpg

Firstly I decided on a window size, I then measured and marked it out with a tape measure and square!

20180825_152651.jpg

The tools I used where a Portable Electric Drill, Router, Jigsaw, Pencil, Tape Measure and a Sandpaper.

Can you just imagine the footage I am going to get, been able to film and photograph the bees in their very home, building combs, offloading nectar, capping combs, interacting with each other and more!

Below after measuring the window size and marking it off, I drilled two holes in each corner of the window and then with a jigsaw cut two rectangular holes per super!

20180825_162005.jpg

20180825_155848.jpg

20180825_161629.jpg

20180825_144642.jpg

20180825_152700.jpg

I now had to install the 3mm glass. I used a 5mm router bit to recess a groove around the edge of the window to fit the glass. With silicone I then installed the glass, a good idea would be to leave this for a few days to get rid of the smell of the silicone, I can't imagine the bees would enjoy this too much!

20180825_154228.jpg

20180825_154210.jpg

Here is the view looking in after I put a super frame in with full wax foundation. This is the view we will get before the bees start to work on the wax foundation, but as they progress this should get far more interesting indeed, naturally there are no bees in here yet, when we put these supers on an already harvested hive I shall be posting pics and video's of those for sure, it really promises to be incredibly interesting indeed!

20180825_154944.jpg

If you look closely, you will notice thin wires on the super frames, these are just to add support for the combs as the bees build them and fill them with honey naturally these would get heavier with time and as they build and fill combs!

20180825_154939.jpg

This still needs to be installed. I am going to put 'covers' over the glass windows to close off light as not to disturb bees whilst we are not looking into observe their activity! Maybe I should install some nice silk curtains for them too, so they can close them at night when they settle in for bed? ;)

20180825_155918.jpg

This is a view from the front of the super. I installed two windows per super one for the side comb view and one of the front the frames running 90 degrees to this window. The thinking was I would like to get a full overview of their activity and progress to get a better idea as to when the next harvest would be ready. Generally bees start working from the middle out, these two windows should give me more than enough info to achieve this!

20180825_171456.jpg

Here we have the glass in as well as the super frames in, to give you a good general idea as to what I plan to achieve as well as what the inside of a beehive looks like. The ten super frames as well as wax foundations all installed in this picture!

20180825_171448.jpg

I had a couple of super cute helpers too (my landlords dogs) all his dogs are named after coffee names, The Boerbul on the left is Lungo and the Ridgeback on the right is a new addition to the pack (very naughty but cute) and his name is Lavazza, other dogs here include Douwie (Douwe Egberts) Keano and Espresso, all very cute indeed, I am not too sure I agree with all their respective 'coffee names'

20180825_164349.jpg

Whalla we are done, or just about, all I need to do is install the glass covers, put these supers on top of the brooder box give a day or three and take some awesome photo's.

20180825_171605.jpg

Be sure to stay tuned for those in a couple of days or less, I hope you enjoy this incredible journey with me of my dream in becoming a top South African Honey Producer. I really plan to do things BETTER than it currently is, in total synergy with nature and producing only the finest top quality raw, unfiltered honey.

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Stunning @craigcryptoking. You are going to be a far better beekeeper with your woodworking skills and zeal for the bees. The windows is a fantastic idea. Shall I make curtains for the bees to get some privacy? I wonder if #naturalmedicine will appreciate this? Can we get my brother's excellent bee post better coverage @lynncoyle1? Not art - exactly - but, what do you think?

I'm on it! This is fantastic @craigcryptoking! Thanks for the shout out @buckaroo :)

Thanks a ton @lynncoyle1 really appreciate that. Got these going onto the hives soon will take pics and vids that should be very educational and interesting.

PS why lynncoyle1? Is there a lynncoyle? Your Twin sister? ;)

Have a super day.

Cheer$;)

Well, now that you mention it, I do have a twin sister! but she's not on here hahaha My first account was just lynncoyle, then I didn't touch it for months and by the time I returned to really do steemit, my password was MIA LOL So lynncoyle1 it was :)

@buckaroo, this is for you too:

Here's an invitefor @asapers if you're interested. We focus on quality unnoticed posts, like this one and share it in our regular READ me ASAP publication, where you also receive a percentage of the post payout. I'd like to submit this one, but you need to be a member first and 3-4 days old is normally the cut-off. So hopefully you see this, but if not, I'm sure you'll be pumping out more great posts :)

Cheers :)

Many thanks Lynn been tending to my precious bees all night will take a sneaky peak in the morning thank you x

Thank you so much @lynncoyle1. You're a gem. Craig Lynn is ONE of a kind. Her name is perfect.

Thanks @buckaroo :) I actually tried to get your last "lemon" post and this one curied, but you two are so awesome (that's you too @craigcryptoking!) they just hit you up a few weeks ago ... too soon for a repeat :) C-squared it is!

Thank you for your efforts Lynn

Thank you Sister you kinda cool too. Tonight was just fantastic will post pics tomorrow my bee windows are just too spectaculat for words. So excited about them x x

Thanks sister really appreciate that.. yes Silk Curtains please? hehe x x mwah

They aren't silk worms!

Congratulations @craigcryptoking! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Woah, very cool project! I never would have thought of that!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hey There, we would love to curate something like this, so if you are interested we only curate from our followers list, side bonus we also share the profits from the curation posts with the curated authors, so if you are keen, please consider following the @asapers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98