Chickens ! I Love Chickens - Are they Original or Extra Chrispy ? - Learning to raise Chickens in Panama seemed easy - But we have had setbackssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago
  • When City meets country few are a clueless as " Son in Law " but made for a funny movie in many ways.

Why would a massive farm have a few chickens wandering around? Even though they bring in 10's or 100's of thousands of dollars in produce every year and could just buy them?

Because Farmers believe in a self-sustaining lifestyle and to know what they are eating.
Large farms, for the most part, are well aware of the Chemicals they use on the crops and the dangers involved along with protective measures needed when handling these substances.
So maybe even a Corn farmer will have another plot of land for his personal corn for consumption for himself or his livestock.
I'll do some articles later of my knowledge of how unnatural some of the things in Grocery stores are ( while all being Government Approved ) And how/why all of these regulating bodies came into existance.
  • Today We're talking chickens and some of the issues that I've had along the way. Just a few minutes ago while typing away, our new Puppy brought a 4-Month-old chicken to my feet!

A little disappointing as I kept her for the reason of protecting the chicken yard at night.
Dogs that eat chickens don't have a long life expectancy around these parts because almost everyone has chickens free ranging in their yards. So she is Either on a rope or locked in an area of the chicken yard I built to house her until she matures and stops chasing chickens or finds a new home.

  • I can't fault her too much as this breed is a natural hunting dog and she needs training which begins today.

Tigra is only 4 months old herself and very active so needs constant attention, Which I failed at this morning while typing to you :-) I need a little training myself it seems.
So I won't get to detailed about my misadventures in Chickens today, Yesterday when I returned from town Tigra was yelping in her pen but after a few minutes came running up to the house. Having found a chink in the chain link fence so I better take care of that as she is just now chewing on my computer power cord! ( Crap )

  • the Chicken she brought to the house seems to be recovering nicely and while visibly still shaken is walking around the yard again.Johana will be home this afternoon to work her magic if need be.

Here is proof...
1 chick recoop.jpg

  • Now I need to put some effort into steming any further problems before they arrive LOL

I'll attemp a further update later today, Thanks for reading.
I'll continue being a better Son in Law today. and a better blogger later :-)
Cheers from the Funny Farm

Sort:  

Love reading articles from fellow Chicken keepers - !! Thank You

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44