'Ole-Timey Retirement

It's been some time ago that we received a paper in the mail outlining the state of our social security.

money3.jpeg

It was grim reading, but I persevered. There seemed a few points that stuck in my mind, galvanizing me to take some action, however small.

It stated that currently our social security would at most cover 40% of the cost needed to retire, and other investments will be needed to live comfortable.

It also went on to say these conditions (of which there were many and varied) were subject to change at any point without prior notification.

I doubt very much those changes would be for the better...

On the whole this letter seemed nothing as much as a prelude, a small courtesy to those with the eyes to see it.

Of either the whole institution shutting down or more likely beginning the dwindling processes as to become a shadow of its former self.

I was surprised at the feelings this elicited. There was anxiety, but of this only a small amount knowing as homesteaders this would apply very little to us regardless of its compensation.

More than that there was sorrow, not for myself but those before me.

I was aware that one of our neighbors had only recently been forced to sell a large portion of his land because the social security he had paid into his whole life was not providing enough for him and his wife to live on, even with some military compensation on top. But this did not strike home quite like the personally addressed letter..

What could we do?...

The word investment stood out to me.

invest.jpg
Stashing large quantities of money (over time) wouldn't work..

Given the rate we could save it. Though subtracting inflation percentages, hording cash is like trying to fill a leaking bowl.

The only way for old fashion savings to work is to do so in a way it grows by the very act of being there. To this end we went to our bank as to inquire on certificates of deposit but that too quickly proved to be a farce! It amounted to mere dollars per thousand even with a five year plan.

The word investment kept circling in my mind but with nothing to connect to..

We work hard for our money and as such are against the idea of sending it away to me managed by someone who doesn't understand the struggle to obtain it. Nor are we comfortable trading it for other essentially useless pieces of paper worth the word stock written on them from some fly by night company owned by strangers.

All these thoughts were underlined by a simple truth...
The knowledge that at best we were talking about a minuscule amount of money. An amount most people flit away on a daily basis with no thought at all. Less than the price for a meal for one at some hole-in-the-wall restaurant, though it be all we could spare in two weeks time.

Then it happened. Being told long ago to look out for them as there worth roughly ten times more then face value, we found a silver dime in our days change.

It was a kingly find in our minds. Excitedly we added them to our small pile of previous finds.

Here was a tangible display of inherent worth.

Finally the word investment found something to connect with.

silver.jpg

I can rest easier knowing we will have something to fall back on in our old age. Something to invest in that is tangible and fully within my control and understanding.

Since then we have religiously invested what money we can whenever possible and our once small pile has begun to grow.

While it has taken a long time, we no longer count individual coins but rather pounds and would encourage anyone else to do likewise.

-The Digger

Sort:  

Thanks for the story. It hits home with me as I plan to fully retire in 23 years. I have invested in precious metals, crypto, as well as my company provided 401K, managed by strangers. Hopefully, I will be able to live comfortably and leave a little something for my three young daughters. Good luck to you and yours.

You have done well! Same to you thanks!

Wise words in these days of uncertainty. Best of luck! 🐓🐓

I'm with you... even though my employer gives a 401k, I'm not solely relying on it for my long term future. Tangible goods! Upvoted, see you on your next post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52