Miracle on the Farmstead!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Things are what you choose to believe they are. Given this, why would anyone willingly invest in the lesser of two ?

P1010086.JPG

Two nights back, around 10:30 or so, me and the wife were watching a movie.
She crocheting, and i stretched out in my chair.

I kept waiting to see birds in the film... There was plenty of avian background noise in it as if the cast were about to enter an old fashion slaughter house, where presumably all the birds had caught on to the notion that many of their number were leaving, but solidly failing to return.

No birds immediately showed up in our movie, and when no birds continued to show up..

Slaughter house....

With that I was up, all weariness washed from my limbs. The homestead was under attack! Picking up on my urgency, my wife quickly followed suite.

flashlight.png

Flashlight in one hand, a strong argument in the other. we burst from the house making good time for the chicken coop.

Most of our flock was huddled outside their coop in a corner of the run closest to the house,

Light fell on our foe who was, for the moment, too intent on his villainy to notice our approach.
And by villainy I mean the using one of our chickens as a hammer with which to beat upon the ground... I'm not sure what the ground did to this particular coon, but I didn't appreciate it getting back at it via use of my chicken..

At this point, I willed the otherwise quiet night air be split with loud arguments against the murder of one of our chickens!

Such arguments could not have been herd at night on this hill for many years.

Shell cases fell like rain.

coon.png

Coons can move like squirrels in a pinch. Arguments exhausted and our foe driven off, my light fell on our fallen bird.

Pity filled my heart and a sense of failure gnawed at my bones.. I left it for the time being as my wife corralled the rest of the flock back in the coop, they were understandably unwilling. This finished, she returned her attention to our loss.. however nothing but feathers remained. She couldn't believe it! Another coon had came for it without her knowing and with her right there!

The remainder of my night was spent in grim silence.. I religiously lock up the chicken coop every night before bed but apparently this routine was spotted by at least one of the numerous raccoons dwelling in the wooded acreage around us. It had bid its time as to strike just after sun down instead of the dead of night as has been usual up until this point.

I couldn't believe it, at least one bird murdered and maybe more. It was too hard to count them accurately given their fevered activity from the ordeal.

chickens.jpg

We rely on our eggs and make sure to put every one to good use with little to no waist in the process. Between chicken to human belly, any loss would be sourly missed and our table lacking for some time to come.

the next morning arrived as bright as any could wish, the song birds were playing there tunes but neither this or the gentle breeze could find a foothold in my ill mood.

Until my wife called...

we have eight chickens!!

'I did not need this,' I thought. 'I know a dead chicken when I see one.. she had no doubt miscounted .. '
I was in no condition to allow my ill mood to rise, only to be dashed and sink to depths still lower.

She called again after a quick recount..

Disbelieving I stomped over to count for myself, attempting to brace my current mood with what reserves was still available to me as a hedge against the inevitable.

I counted once.. twice.. eight beautiful, happy chickens!
One a little worse for wear but appearing to all the world as unharmed.. save a rather shocking quantity of missing feathers..

The coon had not returned while my wife was herding the others in the coop...
This bird was among them uncounted! The shock of the attack, coupled with the thunder of my arguments was enough to kill any lesser bird even without being bit and bludgeoned and left dead face down in a pitiful heap... Inspected for life by not only myself but my wife as well..

A miracle!

My mood rose up just as our chicken did and found new life as if we were Lazarus risen forth!

424414_10150656229933331_1367064191_n.jpg

'Call the catholic church,' I said. 'Here is one for there books!'

I appreciate the forgiveness I was given for my slow foot-ed-ness. Maybe it was playing a heroic game of possum..
But I know death and choose to count myself blessed. After all, who would choose being right over being happy?

-digger

Sort:  

Amazing you kept all your hens! The joys of the coons. I got a full family of 5 coons a few years back after they took 4 or 5 of my hens. The coons went up the nearest tree to the coop at night and I was lucky enough to have a bright light... I still have 5 pelts, 2 adults and 3 juveniles. Racoon meat is okay... but I ended up giving most of it to a friend who enjoyed it much more than I. There are some who consider it a delicacy.

You got very lucky! Now, please tell me that coon got hit by some of that lead you sent his way.

One of the first things we did after we moved here was set up a range and my wife and i practice regularly and have been known to take rabbits at 30 feet, but this was rough. I did not get him good enough to stop him from crawling away.. Not to worry it's, time to thin there numbers.

That's good that y'all practiced! I've only had to shoot one animal at our farm so far and unfortunately it was a dog from down the road. Actually I had to put down a goat as well that we bought infested with worms and couldn't get him well.

My worst nightmare described in vivid detail. A coon after my girls. I chased a fox around most of one night till it disappeared never to return. Glad there was a happy ending to your story.🐓

It was pretty surreal! As a general rule a farmstead is pretty laid back.... but some times it can be fast paced!

Well written and detail oriented. Nice work keep it up @kingjan

I know how you feel, we have lost over 30 chicks to a local (stray ) cat.
I had to fence the whole chicken yard, now 1 of our dogs puppies will have the job of sleeping in that area. earning her keep :-)

Man, thats smart.. We have a dog but like us, and most other creatures. It loves chicken and has been known to eat them whole. Though she is getting pretty old now, your idea is worth some thought.. Thank you!

This is a great story and one that I am very familiar with. New follower here with an upvote and a Resteem for you.

Thank you! I'm sure there will be many more stories to come!

I laughed, I cried, I cheered! So glad for a happy ending for you and your chickies. What a sneaky little raccoon! I definitely do not like knowing the tactics it takes to try to score it's dinner....so aggressive! Resteemed!

Thank you! Its been a year since the last attack.. Where in we lost two chickens, a hen and our rooster. We have since tried to get another rooster but none have worked out very well. But thats life peaks and valleys...

Congratulations @clarkfarmstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

wow it lived after it's head was used like a hammer to beat he ground ? sweet happy story day :) thanks for sharing

It did! Now its going around bare butt with all its feathers gone! But they will grow back..

Be sure to give it extra oyster shells or eggshells to help grow those feathers. So happy to hear your girl survived.

That's amazing! Love it when they survive against the odds! Thankfully we don't have raccoons or weasels here in Australia, but we do have foxes and lost one of our girls and a quail to one last year. We've since shored up the defences.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75