Walk With Me To See My Year-Round Outdoor Salad Bar

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

It was misty then overcast this morning. Later it rained and will be cold again tonight for a few days. It's not cold yet so we are going to take a walk and look at my year-round outdoor salad bar this morning.

All my perennial salad plants as shown below grow and can be harvested year-round here. And unlike annual plants, I don't need to replant perennials every year. Minimum input yet maximum rewards. In addition, there is no laboring, no tilling, no exposing bare soil, and no disturbing soil life every year. It's mimicking nature and very sustainable.

I am also very exicited that I have found the best all-season leafy green that can thrive not only in steaming hot summer here but also in the winter! I'll point it out in the walk.

20180112_090001.jpg
Let's start the walk by taking a look at the lake. There are still a few migratory ducks there.

20180112_090029.jpg
There is otter manure by the lake. If you look closely, you can see undigested fish bones and scales. It smells like rotten fish. It's under an Avocado tree, which will be very happy for the newly added plant food.

20180111_095639.jpg
This is Longevity Spinach (Gynura procumbens), an all-season winner in my garden. It's can be eaten raw or cooked. It's not only a vegetable but also a medicinal plant, which has good properties for contrasting diabetes by improving insulin sensibility and inhibit gluconeogenesis in the liver. Other medical properties include antimicrobial, anticarcinogenic, anti-inflammatory and antihypertensive.

They grow like weeds in my garden as shown in the next three photos below. Nothing is better for edible plants to grow very fast like weeds. :-)

20180111_095505.jpg

20180111_095514.jpg

20180111_095526.jpg

20180111_100400.jpg
Sweet potatoes grow year-round here, too. Winter is not the best season for them as you can see. But we manage to pick up good young leaves to eat every single day. It is a good source of Protein, Niacin, Calcium and Iron, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, and Manganese.

20180111_100316.jpg
This is my longest bed of sweet potato vines on a Hugelkultur.

20180111_100506.jpg
I see some wild rabbit manure. I have enough plants to share with wild rabbits. They eat and deposit their manure next to the plants as plant food. Nature makes the perfect connection between different elements!

20180112_090416.jpg
This is Okinawa Spinach, which has been known to lower cholesterol, and has even earned the nickname “cholesterol spinach”. It can be eaten raw or cooked.

20180112_090205.jpg
We harvest green papayas and shred them to make a fermented salad. If you haven't tried it yet, I can only say it's divine. My kids like it much better than kimchi.

20180108_194525.jpg
Freshly made green papaya salad will be fully fermented in 3 days.

20180112_090148.jpg
An almost ripe papaya

20180112_092218.jpg
Cranberry Hibiscus is still blooming. Both flowers and leaves are edible. Leaves have the taste of cranberry!

20180112_092356.jpg
This is Canna Edulis with edible flowers, young leaves, and root.

20180111_095259.jpg
Asparagus grows here year-round. I harvest both the young shoots and the young leaves.

20180112_092259.jpg
The one with white flower is Spanish Needle (Bidens), a medicinal weed plant growing everywhere in my garden.

Thank you for walking with me today. I hope I have encouraged you to grow some perennial salad plants if you live in a tropical climate or have a greenhouse. See you next time!

Sort:  

First time saw some of these. Very interesting plants you have there

You don't see many of them in grocery stores for sure. Thank you for stopping by.

I bet that hibiscus would make great tea

Yes, it makes great tea! It also goes well with kombucha. :-)

Lovely, I really would love to be able to trade for such warm weather things, but I live so far away in the cold north lol. I can only dream of fresh salad all winter.

Indeed, they got it right! Believe it or not we live in a semi desrt here lol, so we also get to experience some extreme heat... and lots of fire and drought lol. It is pretty amazing that humans can survive all over the world in such extreme conditions.

You know I dream about cooler air up north when it's steaming hot here in the summer. ;-) It seems there is no single perfect place. No wonder migratory birds fly around.

It is great when lunch time comes around and I ask my son what kind of salad he would like and he goes out and "shops" the garden for the greens he would like to munch on. Nice walk today. Love the gardens.

Haha ... that's exactly what I do. When I am hungry, I just walk out to my garden and see what's good and pick them up. Thank you for stopping by today!

That is such a great way to get your veggies. Especially as they grow all year round for you. I wish I could do that. Everything looked incredible

Depending on where you are, you can grow different perennial vegetables. it's truly a great way to get your veggies. Thank you for your comment.

Yeah I'm totally jealous of your year round greenery. That would be a dream! Canada is great but not nearly enough growing time. Beautiful home and gardens :)

Thank you for your compliment! You may be able to grow veggies year-round in a south facing greenhouse attached to the house even in the north.

Wow your posts are like a Science, Nutrition, Gardening classes all in one. There is so much and so much information. I am beyond intrigued and I do not know what to look at first and what to ask first. I am really interested in the spinach. The longevity spinach. I wonder if that would grow in a greenhouse here. Or just here in the summer. Wow, just Wow. your posts just getting better and better. I think anyways

I believe longevity spinach will grow in a greenhouse during winter time up north. It seemed to tolerate cold very well. We had 41F/5C for a whole week and it grew anyway. Thank you so much for your kind words, my friend. :-)

Your welcome. @Lyndsaybowes and @hendrix22 have greenhouses. Way to large for me I would not be able to run and sit on the beach. However they sell small ones and I think I have a perfect spot to grow some nice things year round. Food for thought. :))) lol pun

Haha ... let me know how it turns out for you if you do get one. :)

I really enjoyed my walk with you here. You have wonderful things in your garden. I love the salad Thereafter.
And also i never knew Spanish Needle (Bidens) is loaded with such bhealth benefits.
Thanks for sharing this

Thank you for taking the walk with me today!

Dear @cheneats
nice post. Thanks for using the ecotrain tag but please do not use it in another post again, since only members of the ecoTrain are authorised to use it and, according to my knowledge, you are not one of them.
The ecotrain tag is meant to indicate membership in the ecotrain group and is not a topic tag for general use.
The Conductor

Sorry, I didn't know it before. And thank you for letting me know, @likedeeler. I have removed the tag from this post. How do I become a member?

Thank you, no worries.
I don´t know if we accept new members at the moment, but you can send an email to Alex at [email protected] and express your interest, he can tell you more.
Here is some more information about the ecotrain:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@ecotrain/what-is-the-ecotrain-in-a-nut-shell

Thank you so much for the information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46