Fish Nitrogen Fertilizer

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I saw a few dead large tilapia about 15-18 inches long near the lake bank on my morning walk. I decided to use a skimmer net to scoop them up one by one and bury them in a woodchip pile next to my loquat, mango, avocado, star fruit, and fig fruit trees.

What a nice combination of a free source of carbon (wood chips) and nitrogen (fish) to make perfect plant food! I can feel these fruit plants are getting very excited when I bury the fish next to them :)

20180219_110949 (1).jpg

Dead fish stink! Yet, there is no smell at all when dead fish is buried in the wood chips. The carbon in the wood chips absorbs the odor of decaying dead fish. Together they will make perfect compost!

Sort:  

Nice way to source free nitrogen! I think I maybe would have spread them out...but the tree roots will find your little pocket of energy!!

For free sourcing and composting and gardening, this post gets the #healthy-home seal of approval!


@healthy-home is a curation account seeking to grow the Steemit platform by supporting high quality content producers.

All content is MANUALLY curated. You can support this work through Steem donations, upvotes, and SP delegations.

Thank You!

Fantastic idea. I will remember that when we see something from nature that could go under a tree to assist in the growing. It all comes from the earth. It should all go back to the earth.

Absolutely! From dust to dust - nature produces no waste. Thank you for stopping by :)

Well done. Many people would ignore or even complain about seeing a dead fish, then proceed to pay $5 for a bottle of liquid fertilizer that is made from dead fish. Functionally no different than finding cash.

Haha ... upcycle makes dead fish like cash. Thank you for the very nice perspective :)

This information is wonderful and very useful dear @cheneats.
Good manure is what a man needs today for a good farm, thank you for everything you give us, and I always hope to see more of you

Thank you for your kind words and for dropping by today :)

Nice post great info thanks

You're welcome!

yes dead fish have many uses. missing cheneats these days. missing all the interesting posts re food and flowers and permaculter. Hope all is well :))

Spring is finally here! I spend more time working in my garden than in front of the computer. Thank you for checking. I am well and started to get tan. Hope all is well with you, too. Keep running. :)))

whew!. I was wondering, but then I thought, cheneats must be in the garden. good for you..I dont blame you. not sure what I am going to do in the nice weather. beach, garden, running..cant say the computer will come first. thanks for stopping by :)))

This is brilliant!
I would be scared to do it here... it would be bear bait?
Even if i put ash and chips..i suspect it would cause me grief... unless i do it when they go to bed?

I have raccoons and possums here. But of course, they can't harm people like bears. One way is to dig a very deep hole into the ground to bury them or use a bear-proof container. Just some thoughts :) Thank you so much for stopping by.

Congratulations @cheneats! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi , dear friend @cheneats

i like fish very much .
thnx for sharing my dear friend

I like fish for food, too, but not dead ones ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54