Bugs Coming Out of My Ears.. Literally!!!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

So a week or two ago, I walked down to our chicken pen to feed our 10 ladies some kitchen scraps and collect eggs. I was just minding my own business, enjoying their clucks and happiness to receive some yummies. I came out of the pen and closed the door, then bent down to pick up the bowl I had brought with me when all of the sudden I feel something crawling on my ear. Naturally, I brushed it away and much to my horror.. I felt a bug crawl INTO my ear. #shreeeeeeeeeeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiik Crawling....... in my ear canal. {{{{{Insert panic Here}}}}}}} I went back into the house, found my husband, and proceeded to tell him the story... asking desperately for suggestions on how to get this thing to come out and stop crawling around inside my brain. Literally. That's what it felt and sounded like in my head. Well, Captain Crypto had no suggestions so I went immediately to the ever faithful Google. I quickly read to pour some alcohol into your ear canal because they don't like the scent and often it will coerce them to come out, but beware of the possible burn!! Ouch. So that didn't work. The next suggestion was to try to pour water into the ear and flood it out. I tried this, and then began violently shaking my to the side... so much so that my neck muscles wore out in about 5 minutes and I seriously felt as if I had whiplash. I'm talking ZERO strength left in my neck muscles. IT.WAS.AWFUL. Bug in my brain, neck in pain. Well, I had worked up a sweat and we had people coming for dinner so I gave up (and did not give in to TOTAL panic) and decided to take a shower. More crawling around, more head jerking, and suddenly, felt it crawl out and onto my cheek a bit and then on to the shower floor. There it was, a spider.. between the size of a dime and a nickel... just hanging out on my shower floor! I supposed he was happy to see the light of day again. And then I squashed him. Didn't feel bad about it either. :) You just can't make this stuff up.

Did you know that this happens more than you might think? I spoke to a nurse practitioner friend of mine in the States and she said she's fished about 4 bugs out of people's ears in the last year at the office. Did you also know that the average adult swallows 2-3 spiders per year.. mostly during sleep?! Seriously?!! Gross!

So that is my spider story, but on a happier, less hostile note I wanted to share a few pictures of the amazing bugs we do have here in Panama! Living in Panama means just living with bugs. They just are. They find ways into your house. There is no stopping it. Heck, they even find ways into your ears! LOL! After living here for 2.5 years, I've come to just accept this fact and a while back just began taking pictures of them because well, they are just amazing creations! I hope you enjoy these photos I've compiled using my handy cell phone!


This moth was about the size of my entire hand, huge!


Yes, that is a real bug. A caterpillar who was eating the leaves of a banana tree!


This was a crazy little trio that made it's way into our house all within a few days of each other!


Such colors!


My son called this little guy a camo moth!


She looked like the little sister of the pretty moth above! Love her fluffy little heart shape above the wings!

Amazing right? Our creator God is an incredible artist!!! Hope you enjoyed my pics and creepy story and thanks for the comment and up vote! Have a great night!

Our beautiful city is located near here on Steemit World Map! !steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long Tierras Altas D3SCR

Sort:  

Congratulations @captcryptoswife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well that's one Panamanian experience I hope to avoid, remind me to stay away from your chicken house, that spider might have brothers.

I love your bugs! The spider in the ear though, not so much.

It is still so #creepy to read that story! No thanks! #Panama surely has its share of bugs - some super cool ones and some mean ol' nasty ones. Glad your brain is still intact. ;)
!steemitworldmap 8.658599 lat -82.546466 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Those moths are amazing. I especially like the orange and white one with the black lines. So beautiful!

I know! Aren't they incredible?! <3 Thanks Doctor Crypto! Maybe we are related?! Haha!

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=captcryptoswife
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bugs-coming-out-of-my-ears-literally


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I don't mind run of the mill bugs, but have you seen the cave roaches from Costa Rica? haha They are HUGE! When I told my son we may be moving to CR, he said he'd run away from us (he's only 8). He had seen the roaches beforehand. I've heard in the right places though that there are no roach, scorpion, or mosquito problems, correct?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98