You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seed Storage Blunder: Can You Help Me Solve This Puzzle?

Thanks for the lengthy reply :)

You are right that it could also be a fungus that was on the nuts to begin with. Although I have no idea what it might be. I don't think it is any sort of mold. I forgot to take a picture of it but I could peel the fungus off the buckeyes in a layer. It was very rubbery like cooked egg white.

I may have had the medium too moist and that triggered the spouting maybe. The articles say things like moist or slightly moist but don't really tell you how to achieve it.

I also found out today from one the articles that the buckeyes could be kept in a sealed baggy for up to 4 months which is probably what I should have done.

I am think I will end up trying to plant the sprouted seeds but haven't really figured out the logistic of that yet. There isn't a lot of room in the Tiny House.

Sort:  

the picture reminds me of turkeytail, lionsmane, or reishi mycelium which i think like decaying oaks. i have hazelnuts in the freezer right now. i should take them out soon. you could keep them inside a couple weeks maybe then plant them since room is tight? or plant them now? or just toss them somewhere randomly.

I hope you are right and it is some sort of edible mushroom or at least something beneficial.

I kept the Buckeyes that have the fungus so I am curious to see what happens.

here is a link showing how some homegrown lion's mane looks as the mycelium is beginning to grow. from the reishi and turkey tail growing on our property where we had some oaks cut down, chipped into mulch, then left there, they appear to have similar mycelium growth to lionsmane before it fruits into the mushrooms. The big problem with mushrooms in the wild is nature is not a sterile environment. there are probably a lot of different fungi and bacteria scattered about objects laying on the ground. anywhooo, here is the link. that white stuff in the first picture is the mycelium beginning to grow. at the very beginning, it is sparse but can be seen within the substrate if broken apart, and too me, looks similar to your first picture having grown them in a kit myself. It is rubbery like an overcooked hardboiled egg.

http://biol213-plants1.blogspot.com/2016/04/mane-mushroom-patch-pilobolus-culture.html

Thanks for the link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67073.12
ETH 3507.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18