You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading with History: Skill Collecting as Cultural Reconnection

I also have the desire to rediscover my heritage. It is definitely fascinating. There lot of valuable skills that have been lost due to our modern hectic lives.

Sort:  

It is a valuable experience on many levels. The practical justifications are enough in my my...but the sense of connection and satisfaction are hard to beat. What is a skill you are hoping to gain?

That is actually a hard question as there would be so many I would have to think about it and make a list. Off the top of my head...

I've always wanted to build a log cabin or something similar. Even if it ended up being an animal shelter I think it would be neat.

Also blacksmithing would be cool.

Blacksmithing would absolutely be a great skill. A friend of mine makes tools and man are they gorgeous. Its a skill I dont feel called to but definitely value.

Log building...goodness yes. Agreed, even if its a basic shelter. That's one I'd like to try out next year. Hopefully first for a tool shed. Then something bigger down the road.

A tool shed would be a great use for a log building. It would look really cool too! Reminds me of the old homesteads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65