Mother's Garden Walkthrough Part 3

This is the final installment of my Mom's garden walkthrough and I bet you are wondering, "how much more stuff can there be?" Well quite a lot actually.

Chard

The first thing I want to mention was that on the other side of the Kentucky blue beans was a row of rainbow Swiss chard. This is one of my favorite greens for cooking. In addition to providing interesting colors, it's very frost hardy which means it can be enjoyed later into the fall than many other veggies in our cold climate.

Garlic

There are also a couple of plants I didn't cover in the back yard area: The first is a type of garlic called Red Russian. I'm not familiar with growing garlic but apparently they are a type of hard neck garlic that can withstand soggy winter soils better than other types of garlic and they also store well. Red Russian garlic is also known as elephant garlic for the sheer size that the bulb can grow.

walkone

walktwo

The next are Egyptian Walking Onions. These are great permaculture plant! They are a type of onion that produces large clusters of bulbs at the top of the stalk. These bulbs can be used as they are for cooking but if you leave them they eventually weigh the stalk down so much that they fall over and plant themselves! The root bulb also grows in size and can be used like a regular onion as well. It's natures 2 for 1 deal!

Turban

We are almost back to where we started, we just need to check out the far side of the garage. The first thing that caught my eye was a Turban Squash trying to repel down out of the compost bin! I built this composter out of salvaged pallets for my Mom about 15 years ago and am surprised it hasn't rotted out yet. There is a good chance they were Oak pallets. I feel like, even back then, I would have been aware of the type of wood used. I'm not sure if it is still fully functioning but the original design allowed the front boards to be removed so the lower levels of compost could be scooped out without having to empty the whole thing.

Artichoke

Along the fence, there are also some massive Jerusalem artichokes. They are at least 7 feet tall. I'm not sure what she does to make them grow so well. The ones growing in my test plot are only about 3 feet tall... Behind the artichokes are even more squash! They really are sneaky. My Mother prefers the turban squash to many others because they are earlier to mature which is definitely a plus with our short growing season.

Mint

In front of the Jerusalem artichokes is a patch of mint. Apparently, it is self seeded and growing fairly aggressively. I might take some for my property I haven't found an extremely hardy mint yet but whatever strain this is might be the ticket.

Sunone

Suntwo

After that are several sun flowers. I am fairly certain my Mom said that they are self seeded also! Some of them from birds and at least one that dropped seeds where it was growing the year before. She leaves the heads on the sunflowers in the fall so the birds will have a high energy snack to eat during the winter!

Lambs Ear

OK last plant, I promise! Lambs ear gets it's name due it the leaf shape and because its soft and fuzzy like a sheep or lambs ear. Apparently, it is edible although it doesn't look that palatable to me. I think it also can be used as a toilet paper substitute in a pinch. It is a good thing that plants don't have feelings or the lambs ear might get butt hurt from being used in such a manner.

Whew, we made it! I hope you enjoyed this walk through my moms garden as much as I did!


Canadian renegade LogoimgJoin Us On Discord


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Thanks for the tour. Great garden! If you were looking for a mint- I have peppermint plant that is hardy and grows aggressively. Smells divine, can be used for tea and 🐝 love it when it blossoms.
I never thought of lambs Ear as substitute for toliet paper but I can see that if you’re caught outdoors. 😂

Thanks for the offer. I think the stuff my mom is growing will work though. Also thanks for stopping by.

That is a lot of stuff, how does she keep up? My favorite was probably the walking onions, that is cool. I need to find me some of those, I have a couple places that I could just turn them loose and see what they do. The seed them self theme is great too, I had a couple volunteer watermelons this year that turned out well.

looks all so yummy and tendered with love... tnx for your support

Hi, I never see kind of this onion species, all I have seen is the one with the bulbs in the ground, It is really nice to have this Egyptian Walking Onions, so which one is better for for cooking @canadianrenegade?, is that the one from the ground or the one on the stalk? and which one better for next growing?

It is the same onion, just a picture of the small bulbs on the top and a picture of one of the small bulbs after it has been in the ground awhile. I doubt walking onions are best for commercial production but they are great for a homestead or home garden because they replant themselves!

Both the small bulbs on the top and the main bulb can be used for cooking.

Very nice.

I need to do a walkthrough of our garden. I just got home and there is a ton to get caught up...but on the surface the garden looks peaches!

Peace

That's awesome! So it kind of took care of itself then?

Can you help me with this photo

GardenBed_crop.png

I took this photo from your previous post, and I would like to know are they edible, if yes, what to do with that and how to do it

In Berastagi where I found this flower, they are only a flower in the garden. Thank you in advance @canadianrenegade.

I don't know what those are, I will have to ask my Mom about them!

Wow! This part of Mom's garden rocks!! What a bunch of happy plants! I have only recently heard of Jerusalem Artichokes. But, have no idea what they are nor how they are eaten/ stored. Would love it if you could fill me in! Great to see you tonight! I love hearing how progress on your property is going! Peace ✌🎉🌹🐛

The Jerusalem artichokes have tubers that are sort of like potatoes but they have a sweet nutty flavor. They store well in the fridge or a cold storage room. I eat them in moderation usually mixed with other vegetables because they are high in a type of fiber called inulin. This makes them good for diabetics or anyone else trying to keep their blood sugar low. Unfortunately some people get bad gas from them if they eat too much. There may be some ways to prepare them that reduces this tendancy though.

Oh and they are perennial so they keep coming back every year if you leave any root in the ground.

Have enjoyed this tour of your mom's garden. Still very curious about her soil prep....

I am finding out for you. Will either reply here or if there is enough info maybe a post.

nice of green plant awesome bro great pic i like it😗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81