Canadian Renegades Not Garden

We decided not to plant a garden this year. Between living at my parents, managing twins, and building a house we felt like our to-do list was maxed out. We wouldn't have time to water or tend or harvest the way we normally would. Instead, we would focus our efforts to homestead step number one: build a house. The garden would have to wait.

TomatoesHere are where our tomato plants are living; tucked away under the deck.

Then, one afternoon my mom and I headed to the greenhouse's farmer's market and we spotted BOGO tomatoes. You know BOGO, right? Buy one, get one? That was it. I was done. How could we not get tomatoes? I quickly hopped into our Tomato Guides for a refresher and made some quick picks.

Tomato Guides: Part One | Part Two | Part Three | Part Four | Part Five

Truthfully, our tomatoes are seeing the kind of neglect we expected a garden would this year. But neglect is good, right @senorcoconut? Even though they're sun-loving we tucked them under the deck so that the infrequent watering isn't too detrimental. Several weeks ago, there were a few days where we encountered severe winds. The tomatoes were knocked over and most of the stalks incurred substantial damage. Our Better Boy was nearly severed! We hadn't even staked or caged them yet.

Despite the neglect, however, they are still producing a small bounty for our bellies! I went outside to check on their progress this evening and here is what I found:

SungoldThese Sungolds are definitely the heavy producer they promised they would be.

When we shared our Tomato Guide, both @redouanemez and @pennsif chimed in to let us know how much they enjoyed the Sungold variety of tomato. We hadn't grown it before so we decided this would be the perfect opportunity to test them out. Well, they are plentiful and if I had to describe what sunshine tasted like I would use this tomato as an example. They have been cracking a bit on us but we suspect that's from out inconsistent watering schedule.

BetterBoyThis Better Boy was nearly severed but is surviving. We have one fruit hanging out there right now but I am doubtful we will get more than that.

BeefMasterThe Beefmaster has about four pieces of fruit night now. We'll still have to wait a while before we can sample these fruit.

SweetTreatsSweet Treats to the left and Sungolds to the right and both look plentiful!

MillionOur Sweet Millions look like they're experiencing some catfacing, which can happen if the flowers are exposed to -10°C to -15°C or when excessive nitrogen fertilizer is used. Since the other tomatoes aren't exhibiting this characteristic, if I had to guess, I would bet this is from fertilizer. When we first brought these home we were all eager to water and weren't communicating well. I know they received a few extra waterings with the seaweed based fertilizer we are trying this year.

candylandAbundant Candyland Red. These tiny gems certainly are the candy of the garden. I don't think a single tomato has made it past my finger tips!

Does anyone have a good recipe for Nasturtiums? Ours are growing wildly and I am not sure what to do with them besides adding these little pepper bombs to salads.

Nast1

Nast2

Nast3

All photos in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade.


Canadian renegade Logo


[Join Us On Discord](https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb)

20180516_002249_0001.png

Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Your garden is beautiful. Your tomato yield is good.

Thank you, it's not to shabby all things considered. -Aimee

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-25T04:55:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 51.70/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I really like the vegetables, especially with the tomatoes. And the type of tomato plant is very easy to treat, and quickly bear fruit.
Good post friends.

Yes, I am a big fan of vegetables too! If you get the right tomatoes you will definitely be eating them soon. We have a few slower growing ones but I think they will be worth the wait. -Aimee

WOW, you are ahead of me! I did not even manage tomatoes in a bucket this year, myself. :D

@canadianrenegade
Good job girl!

Thank you! Ha ha! Sometimes we have to weigh the pros on cons of everything on our plate. There are days when I wonder why I even did this much but those juicy tomatoes are so worth it! 🙃 -Aimee

I bet they are tasty! You should be happy with them! :)

Even the cracked ones are still delicious! I am pleased. -Aimee
Ps. I just noticed the dachshund in your profile picture!! Cute.

That was Lola, one of our rescues!She went from one of pack here, to queen of HER house! They have two more now, LOL! She taught them well....:)`

The nasturtiums can be dehydrated and I use them to supplement the layer feed in winter. The leaves can be used to make sandwiches. I've heard the seeds can be pickled when green.

Oh, great suggestions! Thank you! -Aimee
Ps. It's nice to know that some people make it to the end of the article. 😉 Although, this one was much shorter than I typically do. -Aimee

If the post is well written, I will read to the very end. :))

What a compliment. Thank you. -Aimee

BEAUTIFUL images of the Nasturtiums!! I'll have to watch for recipes for these... I wonder if you can make a floral vinegar out of them for a hair rinse??

Thank you! I actually went back and did a second round of photos because I wasn't happy with the first. Now I am really glad I did! I have never made a floral vinegar or a hair rinse before. I will have to look into both of those. I appreciate the ideas! -Aimee

Oh yes, Sungold are delicious. They are like candy in the greenhouse!


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Yes! 100%! We are so glad you let us know your experience with them. Thanks for stopping by. -Aimee

Nice to see your garden sir @canadianrenegade after long days.😊

Thank you! Yes, this poor scraggly garden doesn't usually get a visit until after the long days... If we remember. Ha ha ha! -Aimee

Yes it's true in our daily life there is really tough to manage everything... but after somedays visit will be also great i'm sure...😎 btw I really liked your garden a lot 🙂
if you are free visit my blog sometimes sir. my art & was there.😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67