Renegade's Home Build vlog #16 - Big Plans Little Progress


Today was one of those days where I got off to a slow start. Once I was at our homestead site, I spent more time trying to figure out how to cut and install that last little bit of foundation foam than actually doing it. The final process didn't make it onto the video but once I finally had a good plan in place and got set up it started to rain! Well, at least the next time I choose to tackle this project it should go smoother.

I'm also still debating how I should install the basement windows. I've seen them installed recessed into the foam board and also flush with the foam. I feel that if I install them flush with the foam I should probably build an extension for the window jambs so there is something solid to mount them onto. Any thoughts?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Looking good @canadianrenegade! I got some thoughts from my kids' dad who has lots if experience in this field. Hopefully something is useful in it!

😊. Regarding window install advice. If there is to be a membrane (delta ms or similar) on outside of foam then window should be installed onto treated wood jamb extensions sealed to existing in concrete jamb. The extensions should be 2x4 on flat to allow for nailing and subsequent envelope seal. Foam should be cut back a few inches to accommodate.
If there is no exterior membrane then window should be installed and sealed to existing jamb and jamb will need additional envelope sealing to concrete. Mostly it comes down to what is the finish exterior.

Ok, thanks. That actually helps a bit.

I am still trying to figure out what all our options are for finishing the concrete. All I really know will work for sure is parging which I am not super keen on. Does he know of any other options that will survive ground contact well?

Here's what he says. Thx for asking the q. It helped him to answer my previous questions regarding Christmas/ bday plans for the kids. Been waiting days for that reply!

Treated plywood can be attached over styrofoam and fastened through into concrete with tapcons enabling any exterior finish product to be applied within 8" of grade. The jambs should still be built out as described prior and ply should go over them too. Really it is a good idea to put ply over foam even for parging although mesh does suffice. If they are using mesh then any stucco product can be used over foam. Over concrete only parging can be used due to sulfate attack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05