You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 170 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

From the DTube discord server:

"I would love to be able to say that we're able to store every video, for ever and while we're technically capible of it, financially it's not feasible.

As it stands our well received videos are saved in 480 only, and we remove videos of over 45 days old every monday.

Users who upload the files to third party IPFS nodes will have them accessible on the site, but then the hosting of the file is obviously out of our hands."

Sort:  

That is rather interesting @calhen and thank you for pointing it out to me (I had no idea) but I wonder if they changed something because I see that my older videos are still accessible on DTube. Here is an example of one that I posted on July 30th 2018.

Were you able to play it? It doesn't play for me.

Sigh. You are right @calhen it does not play for me either. Looks like I just wasted three months of my time, limited electricity and limited cellular data plan thinking that I was doing something worthwhile. I kind of just want to scream 'This is why we can't have nice things'!!! Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have most of the videos archived on Google Drive so maybe I will start putting a permalink to them in the video articles but really I think I just need to digest this information before figuring out what to do next.

Ya, definitely something @dtube needs to be more upfront about.

Bitchute.com might be a good option for your purposes, or maybe Brighteon.com

Thanks @cahlen. I will look at those. I have been thinking about maybe using https://bit.tube/ but I need to read more about it;s longevity (hosting).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82