THE DILEMMA OF ONION SEEDS

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_5457.JPG

When we moved out of the city 8 years ago we had all sorts of wonderful ideas about self sustainable living. We were going to live off-grid and off the land. We hoped to make a small income off what we were passionate about - for me that meant my goats. Three years in a flood hit. A year later we suddenly realized that it hadn't rained since the flood. We were now heading to a drought. Four years into the drought many things have changed. Many of our dreams of self sufficiency have disappeared with the elusive rain. We have been forced to make decisions to survive. One of which is growing onions for seed.

IMG_5455.JPG

Now to most of you this may sound like a contradiction. Isn't onion part of a homesteading lifestyle? Not exactly. Our organic homestead was denuded by the flood. It is no longer watered by seasonal rain, which in turn keeps our dams and boerholes full. We have to put a lot more effort into organic living. Everything is suffering. Everything is hungry. Animals, plants and the very land we live on.

IMG_5058.JPG

We have eventually been forced to do what we can to keep our home. We have joined many of the other farmers in the area who are planting onions and carrots for the big seed corporations. That means - and for family and friends who know me, this has been a heartbreaking decision I never thought I'd agree to - while not GMO crops the contract still requires poison. I hate that. It compromises the land. It is totally unnatural. It goes against what I believe and cherish.

IMG_5076.JPG

Onion and carrot require far less water than the crops we grew before. Lucerne (alfalfa) grazing for animals (both fresh and baled) is an extremely thirsty crop. In the drought the limited water we have cannot keep the lucerne alive. When my husband explained that it was either sell the farm (IF we could sell in the drought) or grow onions it was a very, very hard decision for him to make. I supported his decision but I am grateful this is a burden that I do not carry. I don't think I could've made that decision.

IMG_5458.JPG

So the onion and carrots grow on THAT side of our little farm. Our homes with veggie gardens and orchard are on this side. We're at the head of the very low well that still waters the land. We have been very blessed that, while not a profitable crop, the onion field provides enough to look after our homestead and those of us (parents and children included) who live here. When I am grieved by the very sight of the onions, especially when they are first planted and sprayed, the I lift up my eyes. Not too far from the green of the onions are all the rest of our fields. They are like a desert wasteland. Nothing grows. Just dirt blown by the wind. Bordering our land are mostly dead trees, including the deep rooted thorn trees. I love my home. This was a necessary decision. For the time being the onions keep us in the home we love.

IMG_5454.JPG

This is now our third year and last week we started picking. We are truly blessed with a bountiful crop. As you can see the field is still white with a profusion of seed heads. The seed company is astounded that we've already filled our storehouses and the onions continue to head. How grateful we are for sufficient to sustain us another year. And how much we hope that it will be the last year of growing onions. And that the rain will come!

IMG_5153.JPG

Sort:  

Will be praying for the much needed rain. If you sold the farm, where would you go?

It's a good thing you have a side to grow your food and the other for onions. It's a hard decision but what's great when you get out of the drought, you can start rehabilitating the land.

You have this to deal with, and you have the young man to take care of. May the Almighty bless you and yours.

Exactly! It's not just the two or three of us so it's a difficult and complicated decision. Our retired and aging parents live with us. Plus this most challening young man. So we couldn't actually go @lovenfreedom. Thank you for your encouraging and compassionate words. I had quite a rant last week about my stepson. He's regressed a lot in the recent months and we are hard pressed from every side, as the Scripture says

We are all praying for rain, and as for selling the farm other than the drought there is hardly a sales market with all the politics relating to land in the country. My heart goes out to you, I hear you - but, I am happy that you are managing to survive, even if you are not doing exactly what you would like to do.

Are you on whaleshares by any chance?

Oh I think you more than anyone understand this situation @breezin. I didn't want to depress those reading the post by throwing in that additional political slant.

Whaleshares? Nope. First I'm hearing about it

Yeah, I hear you.

ok I am going to e-mail you quickly.

Always praying for rain for you guys!

Do the goats eat onions, or would you be afraid of feeding them an inorganic crop?

Oh drat! You just reminded me, I forgot one of the photos. Guess I'll be doing another post. Funnily enough the goats do love onions. They've broken into this field a number of times (it's a goat thing) But they don't TOUCH the onions. Just browse the edges where the lucerne and mixed grasses grow. Interesting, isn't it?

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

I really feel for your dilemma babe. Must be heart breaking. Drought is so scary. Hopefully the rains will come. Fingers crossed.for you. X

Posted using Partiko Android

It is scary. And I HATE having to compromise like this. When we first bought here I never ever would've believed we'd be where we are. How strange life's twists and turns

We have been following South Africa story as it could well be ours. How is your vegetable garden going in that case ? are you able to get water to it ?

Posted using Partiko Android

Our veggie garden and orchard are still bearing. We're running at half power - we disconnected water to about half of the gardens. A lot of our grey water goes into the gardens or feeds directly onto the trees. The only greenery is right around the homes as all our household grey water is piped to the trees. We're still hoping to set up aquaponics. That way we'll use less water still. Then the veggie gardens will be smaller and only support my herbs and root crops

We have just set up wicking beds which are less complicated than aquaponics if you are interested. But a full scale aquaponics would be cool. We used to have a small set up and the bonus was trout!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh that is interesting! We don't know about wicking beds. I'm going to get the handy husband to look into it. I definitely want fish (specifically trout) but either water saving garden is fine by me

Oh gosh, I understand your feelings on this. I would struggle just the same. I know you see something contrary to your dreams with those onions but when I look at the photos it is quite striking and beautiful to see them lush and green amidst a dry landscape. You have a beautiful farm.

I hope the rain comes soon for you, and with it a quick regeneration of the land.

Thank you for understanding. I cringe to think of what that poison is doing to the land. My husband has to do regular detoxes despite taking all precautions working with that horrible poison. To think that it is so toxic and yet it is deemed necessary for food?!!

I wanted to ask about that but didn't want to bring up something so worrisome. That seems to me so unfair that they make you use the chemicals. At least you are aware and able to combat it and look after his wellness.

It really is a crazy world we live in. I went to an apple orchard just to poke around a while back, they were having a U-Pick day where people can come and pick their own apples. I asked about if they use chemicals and she said yes, after every rain the trees are sprayed.

I was surprised by this because I assumed they would only ever spray to deal with problems but instead they spray to deal with issues that might not even ever exist. That said, my apple trees all organically grown looked horrible this year so I can see why it is tempting when a livelihood is at stake.

Watching all the people handling the apples, including children made me a bit sick though.

It is sickening. Where we live most farmers are either fruit (most grape and apricot) or sheep farmers. The fruit gets sprayed regularly. As a precaution, as you found out. The fruit that is dried is put in a type of bomb shelter and intensely "bombed" with preservatives and chemicals then left out in the sun to dry. There is not a fruit fly or regular fly in sight! Although the houses are full of them. The bugs won't touch them but it's ok for human consumption? It's a sick world we live in. Sick minded and sick in body.

I am happy for you that you have been able to save and support yourselves through these very hard times. I know it is a tough decision but when it is a matter of survival a temporary fix like growing onions and having to spray does no harm that will have lasting effects.
Here's hoping for rain to get you back on track to living the way you first chose to live.

Thank you @porters. Hoping for rain and returning to our dream life

howdy there buckaroo! such and interesting post. Do you guys pick the unions by hand? I'm thankful that you at least have those.

Yes, all by hand. So very labour intensive

dang, that's brutal. but no choice.

Boy I bet that is tough... Keep your land or spray on part of it? Yah willing rain will be back and falling! Pray for protection from those chemicals and His blessings to fall upon you all!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95