PUTTING LIFE'S CHOICES IN PERSPECTIVE

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_4718.JPG

It takes a certain sense of humour and risk taking tendency to live - and survive - in the country. Homesteading lends itself to spontaneity and experimental living. It is by no means a life choice for the faint hearted. After reading "My Homesteading Philosophy" written by @nateonsteemit I was challenged to look at our life's choices, particularly homesteading. Let's face it often we make good decisions. Sometimes we make horrendous decisions. But at times it seems the choice is made for us. With my dad, @quailbreeder, visiting us, it has been special seeing the generational relationship growing between him and my little boy. With plenty of time for my goats as well.

IMG_4597.JPG

My son is very much like his Gramps. He adores animals and he isn't scared to get his hands dirty. They both have very generous personalities and no hidden agenda. My father and my son were born to live in the country. Sadly, my Dad has lived most his life in the city, and still misses it, but he is a natural homesteader and now happily homesteading. It is always special having him visit because he loves animals. Of the four parents he is the one that is the farmer. Funnily enough the other three parents live with us but more out of necessity than a choice. Let me re-phrase. It was their choice to live here but that decision was based on the fact that we live here. So they out of necessity have been forced to make their home among our animals and the semi-desert mountainside.

IMG_3457.JPG

Putting our life's choice into perspective is an interesting reminder. I find it necessary to be reminded of why we are here. Homesteading epitomises all of the other homie things that we desired. Homebirth. Homeschool. Homemade. Homegrown. There is something more real and tangible about homesteading than there ever was in the rat race. We've never worked harder or had as many failures (crop failure, animal loss etc) but there is peace and a sense of purpose in the country that was never realized in the city.

Goshna 032.JPG

We are surrounded by life. The sound of birds fills the air. Walking through the small orchard or onion field the atmosphere literally vibrates with the busy worker bees. My goats always call happy greetings when they see me. There is so much satisfaction from planting a seed, nurturing it and ultimately reaping the benefits. We currently have 7 broody hens - and counting. Soon there will be dozens of chirping fluff balls. Now that the goats are back in milk I am happily making shampoo bars, soaps, cheeses and yoghurts. Nothing quite beats enjoying the wholesome fruits of your labours.

IMG_4706.JPG

My husband and I chose - or rather were directed to choose - our beautiful homestead, and at the same time one another. It is a special story that most of you know. I try to keep these two memories in mind when it really gets tough here on the homestead. We wanted a better quality of life for ourselves, our children, and our parents. I have my Dad's inherited love of animals and so country living was the answer to a life long unasked question. It was slightly different for my city slicking husband. But he has taken to homesteading like the proverbial duck to water.

Goshna 065.JPG

There is something about homesteading that really lends itself to adventure. Or as my dear husband would say of me, science experimenting. Whether it be dabbling in wine making, trying worm farming, messing around with different goat milk products (the operative word being messing) or rather hilarious and crooked building - you can get quite creative. Of course the purpose is always towards sustainability and survival. But why not learn a skill while getting a laugh at the same time? For those who have a romanticised idea of country living, it really is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. However it is also a lot of blood, sweat and plenty of tears. But I choose this life. Every time. How about you?

IMG_4864.JPG

Sort:  

Is that an onion flower? Quite a great shot with the bee and butterfly hovering over it.

What you're doing is a dream of mine. We're continually working on it and hopefully our futurefarmers will be "pros" at homesteading than we are. There's so much life and joy and trials too. But it is our choice.

It's great to hear from you. May He bless you and yours continually.

Hi @lovenfreedom! Long time! Both you and I are a bit scarce here. Are you not as far down the homesteading path as I imagined? Your precious @futurefarmers was saying you have a cow and her baby plus some chickens. We started with chickens. 3. Then we got a goat, and another, and another.....and a sweet cow and some sheep, and another couple goats, and the chickens multiplied, so did my goats....

Yes that is onion. We have a field of onion for seed. The bees, sunbirds and butterflies love them. I sent you another photo. I did a post about it a couple weeks ago. They are beautiful covered with foraging creatures

Blessings to you too

Not as far as we would like. We don't have a fence yet so having cows and goats are in our plans. We haven't had much progress since I had our 4th one late last year :D We have little progress here and there and we're blessed to have the opportunity to work towards our dreams.

Such a beautiful sight. Thanks for sharing. And those little birds! Btw what do you do with all the onions?

My husband has been forced by the drought to sign a contract with a big seed company to mass produce seed for export so it's not grown organically as we would normally

I read so many books about living in a countryside, being a homesteader or farmer in my language though they grow coffee maybe still considered as not a choice for every parents in my country. I have a dream to be a homesteader since I was a kid, but I grew up in the city and never learn anything about farming, gardening or homesteading though my major study is animal husbandry (but never once in my life I worked with any sectors close to animal husbandry project 😅) I learned about planning the pasture and nutrition for animals but I use that knowledge to make a plan of human livelihood program😊 use the village economic sosiology for radio broadcast management.. and so on.

Having read your story and many steemians who also homesteader make me appreciate the life and struggle of your choice of living. I wish i could tell the farmers in my country that working with mud and dunk to produces for the living is not a bad job or status. You live a life that could be somebody else dream for a lifetime, my dream😊.

Thank you for sharing @buckaroo, wish you all the best uhmm.. i love that dirty little hand picture the most 😊

Thank you, as always, for your considerate comment @cicisaja. We also call it farming here in South Africa. I find it sad that many who are farmers also think it is a bad status. But possibly because they are born into it and must survive in very poor conditions. Now I learnt something new about you. Animal husbandry. Fascinating! I'm impressed that you've still used your studies to help humans. Well done

😊 at least I knew how to find the right direction while inject the artificial insemination on a cow 😂 funny that from 50 students who did the field practices that time, I'm the only one who managed to find it 😂 probably because I don't want to get kicked by the horny cow like the other students😆 aahh old time story.

If we talking about the farmers.. yes, even my fellows who graduated as the best graduatee of the year and decided to be a farmer, everybody still look at him with a pity look. In other side, a world bank officer, left everything behind and started to live as a farmer in his hometown, he's truly a hero for Aceh, now. So.. I think we should change the way of the farmers think about themselves? But yes... another affirmative action should be provided by the government too.

I think baby Zach also like dirt :) Grandpa visited? Yay! That's awesome. And you have a rainbow at the end too, we like seeing rainbows. We had a double rainbow a few times.

We're futurefarmers and we enjoy it. Mom and Dad are working hard so we can be completely homesteading like you. Soon we can get the fence around our place and we can let some goats here and momma and baby cow. We already have chickens so we will need more when we have the fence.

Mom said hello, she's helping type my comment. We haven't been posting often.

Thank you for saying such sweet things @futurefarmers. You write very well. And are blessed to have your mom help you. I hope you can get goats soon. But chickens and a cow is special! What is the name of your cow and baby? Do you milk her?

A double rainbow is a special promise. We also have them some times.

Mom does all the typing for me. When I can spell and write better, I can practice more on the computer. I'm beginning to learn how to use the dictionary too!

We don't have a cow and baby yet. Hopefully soon after we have a fence.

It's been raining here so it's not too dusty. How about there?

Only one pic of Dad PFTTT GMFFFF ;( Sister post more.. see how popular you are 19 comments in six hours where ya been yo? Hehe love you broken x x Nice to see you back!

Love you FIXED Craig. Will be doing a Dad exclusive soon. Been too busy to go near the laptop

Hehe G thanks can't wait x PS: How incredibly well has this post done best ever? Nice one sister you really need to post more hehe Listen to your smart wise and gorgeous brother more often x :P

Yes sir Mr Humble. Did you perhaps peruse who else commented last night?!!

Hi buckaroo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Very enjoyable to read this! As a homesteader, I agree! It’s a lot of hard work, but as you say “more real” than other lifestyles.. so connected with the earth! I also am a big fan of all the experiments ;)

Yay for experiments! Wonderful when they suceed and usually funny if they don't

Well written. Could not agree more!

Personally, I think it is an admirable choice of lifestyle... especially in this day and age. Far richer in quality.

And not everyone's cup of tea @jaynie. But I also feel it is a richer quality of life

Very enjoyable post, our homestead consists only of chickens, cats, and one dog. Not even a respectable garden in sight, but I still love it. Have a great day!

Thank you for taking the time to read @moneymosey. I hope you soon have your garden. As for the rest, before you know it there will be animals every where you look! We started with three dogs, a kitten and three chickens. That was 7 years ago....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78