You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reducing Red Meat in 2018 - A Matter of Health, Ethics, & Sustainability

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have a similar goal with going vegan. The last time I went vegan was on a bet with an employer and I did it cold turkey overnight. this time I am going to take a different approach and slowly phase meats and animal products out of my diet. for the 6 months I was ate a vegan diet I felt amazing and healthy. I also lost 92 pounds in those 6 months. I just really love the occasional steak or cheeseburger. While my family supports my choice they don't wish to share in my choice. So, I still have to prepare non-vegan meals for them too. One benefit is that it will help to introduce more vegetables and alternative meals into their diet. I am doing this for several reasons - my health being the main one. I believe a plant based diet is the way to go. That all being said, I am not going to stop raising chickens. I see nothing wrong with raising a few backyard chickens and potentially selling their eggs to consumers who still wish to consume the unborn (hatched) young of my chickens.
Best wishes on your journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51