You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rendering Tallow from Sheep Fat for Sustainable Cooking Fat, Candles, Soap Leather Conditioning and More!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I'm a member of the WAPF, they have a lot of awesome topics on FB and rendering beef tallow was one. As a base for lotions and beauty products it has wonderful anti-aging and moisturizing properties. Sheep tallow would be just as good If not better I assume, awesome post!

Sort:  

Thanks for that info @bthebest7! I have zero experience with beef tallow. I would also assume they are synonymous in many respects. JC what does WAPF stand for? I am not on FB anymore, but I am curious what this group is.

Weston A Price Foundation. His book "nutrition and physical degeneration" is from the 40's or 50's I believe. He was a dentist that travelled the world studying different cultures on traditional diets vs modern diets. He documented the health effects of all the tribes he studied, eating healthy doses of animal fats, it's fascinating. Sally Fallon wrote "nourishing traditions" with Mary Enig. It's based on Dr Price's findings, she also is the president of WAPF they have a yearly convention in the states that thousands of people flock to!

Oh yeah! I am familiar with some of his work and the foundation and their podcast. I was spacing on the acronym :) I definitely appreciate his work and the info they put out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50