Some Welcome Signs of Spring

in #homesteading6 years ago

I am NOT a winter person. It might be different if I lived somewhere further north where winter meant snow, ice and a true shutting down of seasons. But in the South-East of England, winter is no more than grey, wet, muddy weather. It's not very fun.

Today, whilst tromping down the garden to see to the hens, I realised that though it's still January there are some signs of stirring plant life. A new leaf here, a change on a tree bud there and even a few flowers. To celebrate the possibility that spring is on the horizon I filmed a little video. You can watch it below or skip further down for a few pictures for 'The Hope of Spring'.

**********

**********

There are signs of life in the garden. Things are yet to 'thrive' but they're certainly taking opportunity of random mild days to start growing. I snapped a few photos in the dull, grey light of the day.

The first pictures are two euphorbia. These are great plants throughout the year, but they flower fairly early on and so the growing tips appear even earlier.

051.jpg

I love the blood-red stems on this variety

052.jpg
Beneath the storm-damaged trellising, this euphorbia is preparing to flower.

050.jpg
I had completely forgotten I put snowdrops in. These have sentimental value as they came from the garden of a friend who died last year.

056.jpg
The camera did NOT want to focus, but the tips of these apple buds have changed from hard, brown to grey and fluffy - signs of life!

053.jpg
My narcissi (not yellow) are beginning to come up!

So you can see several things are springing into life. It certainly gives me a bounce in my step. Of course, I KNOW that spring must follow winter and that it's not too far away, but seeing nature react like this fuels my excitement even more.

Thanks for reading,

Geoff


THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND COMMENTING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Seven weeks left of winter and counting. When we see the daffodils we know spring is here.

Yep. Can't wait to see the daffodils pop!

Spring is coming! We moved to Southern Missouri, which is further south than we were. We have gone from decent, proper snow to freezing rain and ice. It shuts things down, but isn't as pretty.

That's the thing - proper snow I think I could deal with. The mindset is, right, okay, winter is here, garden is shut down. But the rain and cold thing is just...ug.

I am NOT a winter person

YUP- 100% AGREED here too!

Today it's 51 degrees and the sun is shining... Tomorrow will be the same I believe, so i am heading out for a walk and to check how things are looking around here too.

I hope things start to pop and grow where you are!

Lovely! I cant wait till its like that here. Probably another month before this snow melts tho :P

Nice that you have proper snow though :D

Your Lucky, 14 weeks till we see any signs of Spring here, but I will gladly take your Spring snap shots and enjoy them till I get there

I'm not sure I could survive the long Canadian winters!

Aw can you share that Spring time feeling, just bottle it up, it is about 12 weeks to Spring for us, and that's only if it doesn't snow in may. LOL

Just saying to @canadianwoodguy - I'm not sure I could survive a Canadian winter. It's fun for trips but trying to farm/homestead there would be very challenging!

That's a surprising amount of growth for this time of year. Not only are they dealing with the cold and wet, but the reduced daylight hours. Loved that you found the snowdrops from your friend. What a great legacy!

yeah, my seedlings inside I've had to give supplemental light to but the garden stuff is all thriving.

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you are interested! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22