You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping tabs on our electricity usage

in #homesteading7 years ago

It's not nerdy at all, it's pro-active! I'm glad someone else is like me in monitoring bills. I HATE having to pay for what is effectively wasted energy so I've been doing the same. I have a smartmeter and have managed to cut electricity use from around £2.50 a day to £1.10. I hadn't realised my TV used SO much - so now I watch Netflix only on my laptop or phone.

Great post.

Sort:  

Thank you @brimwoodfarm. That a huge saving from such a simple change. I'm glad I'm not alone. It can be difficult to figure out the ROI on things sometimes, but that smartmeter must have been worth it for you.

I did a lot more changes too - shutting off lights more, switching things off at the wall and not leaving in standby etc. But the TV used a lot! The smartmeter's been great - really made some savings, and they all add up. Now, going into winter, I'm focusing on keeping the gas bill down - hopefully by having more log fires to heat us and the house.

Every little bit counts and it does add up.

I'm not ready to deal with our heating bill yet. We have had a lot of troubles with our indoor climate and we are finally seeing some fruits from our efforts. It would be great though to lower it as well.
Is log fires cheaper for you than the gas heating?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42