From Maggot to Marvel - If You've Got Aphids, Don't Recoil From this Wriggling Wonder

in #homesteading7 years ago



Ever wandered happily amongst your vegetables, marvelling at all those growing harvests, to then recoil at the sight of a ugly, gross, maggot-like creature squirming its way across the leaves? Something like this, for example.

063.jpg

I mean, they're pretty gross. And that's just a picture. If you watch them move - well, that squirming, wriggling weirdness is almost the stuff of science fiction. For years, I saw these horrible things everywhere and took great delight in squashing them.

Get off my plants. How very dare you try and eat my veggies! Keep out. Stay away!

Imagine, then, my HORROR when I discovered these were not horrible little critters after all, but the larvae of hoverflies! All these years, how many hundreds of babies have I killed? And you know the good thing about hoverflies? They EAT aphids. And not only that. Their larvae eat aphids too.

So all these years, I'd be accidently killing off some of the very garden friends I need and want in my garden, thereby allowing the armies of sap-sucking, honey-dew producing greenfly, whitefly, blackfly and all their other namesakes to prosper!

Know Your Insects


One of the things I LOVE about wildlife, conservation, gardening and homesteading is the learning curve and the ability to discover new things all the time. No day is ever quite the same, and whether something crops up with your livestock or your spot something strange in the garden, there's always an exciting discovery to make.

When it comes to organic gardening, it's even more important to know just who's on your side. For example, those little black and yellow striped tanks scuttling around the foliage are also larvae and look nothing like their parents. But both baby and adult ladybirds (as we call them in the UK) also eat aphids and are, therefore, a HUGE friend to any gardener.

098.jpg

We all know what ladybirds look like, but identifying their larvae is important too if you're not to accidentally kill them off.

Embrace the Weirdness



Okay, so hoverfly larvae are - and I'll be polite - 'unique'. And actually, spend a few moments getting past 'eurgh, what the hell is that?' and they're pretty incredible and wacky things. Keep an eye out for them, welcome them, embrace them because they're a biological aphid control you REALLY want around.

Ain't Mother Nature awesome?!

065.jpg

Hoverfly larvae are wondefully weird.

I was so obsessed, I made a little video - jump forward to just after 2 minutes and you'll see their strange movement.

Thanks for reading! Have you come across these in the past? What wildlife discovery has made you sit up and take notice?

THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Those guys wiggle in SUCH an off-putting way. But hey, they work. I've used ladybugs and lacewings, but will give these a shot if I ever find myself with a new infestation!

~ Kevin

I agree. They're pretty gross!

You showed us the larvae of hoverflies, but not ladybugs. Using a search engine, I have found some photos of ladybug larvae:

ladybug larva1.jpg

ladybug larva2.jpg

Thanks for piquing my curiosity!

Thanks for finding those - I tend not to use images other than my own because of copyright issues. Ladybird larvae are pretty weird too!

I've never seen these before. What do their adult forms look like? I'm not sure I know what hoverfly is. I'm off to search them up! Thanks, @brimwoodfarm!

OHH!! We have these! I never knew what they were called before but the name makes complete sense. I'll stop swatting them when they come around me. Whoops!

Did you find them? I'm wary of using photos that aren't mine - hence why I didn't include one. Those hoverfly are so darn quick it's near impossible to get a good shot.

I did find them! I never knew what they were called. The name makes sense, they hover!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56240.84
ETH 2996.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21