Can't Beet This!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Our Beets have done quite well this season. We may have left them too long, as they are quite large.
Today we're harvesting them. This is a relatively easy task as they remain close to the surface and give up their grip without much effort. It didn't take long to fill this container.

Now it's time to give them a quick rinse to remove most of the dirt, then, we cut the greens off and separate them. Just look at how big this one is!

With a basket full of Beets, and another full of greens we're not done yet. We'll eat a few, give a few to the chickens, and use the remainder to mulch our tomatoes.

It's getting close to lunch, so we'll pick some lettuce from one of the cold frames and enjoy a garden fresh salad with our meal....it appears we'll enjoy some ball playing well.

Sort:  

Hello Friend how are you? very good harvest of beets are very large and the lettuces look very fresh you know that I love your farm and I really like to see how their own vegetables got a lot of beet and there are even more and the best thing is that they do not waste anything until the chickens will have your part of the harvest.

Anis looks very good please give my regards and Candy wow I am very happy my day to see her in the video playing with her ball around Anis.

I really like the beet in juice and salad casually yesterday a friend @lizelle who participates in public cooking contests a dessert that she made with beets she is a great chef so today I will publish about the beet because I know that it has many benefits.

In truth, you are very blessed, give greetings to Candy and Anis from me.

Thank you. Your post on Beets was excellent. You included a lot of information that might help others see the benefits of this great vegetable.
I let Anis & Candy know you send your best. They send well wishes your way too!

Haha! You guys are livin' the dream! Such a beautiful place. I know it takes work but it's the right kind of work you know? Great harvest by the way. You guys always bring a smile to my face brother! Thanks for that! Enjoyed.

We're happy to be able to reach out and bring a smile to the face of a friend who's not within walking distance. Thank you Brother!

Hey the beets look fantastic but I am truly salivating over your lettuce!! Nothing better than eating your own homegrown food...yum!

LOL I can't get outside without a little ball play either as my dachshund Cocoa carries her ball everywhere we go. Have a fantastic day!!

You have a little drool on your chin, should I wipe that up? Alternatively I could ship you a piece of fresh, homegrown lettuce......Drool Wraps for everyone!!!!!!!
Does Cocoa return the ball when you toss it or do you have to wrestle it from her?

Oh yeah! I love eating straight out of the garden lol...doesn't even make it to the kitchen sometimes. lol I like the Drool Wraps idea :D

Cocoa will bring the ball back and drop it close enough to reach. If it's to far I tell her 'it's too far' and she will shove it closer with her nose lol.

Cocoa sounds just like Candy....we'll say "can't reach" and she'll pick it up and drop it closer to us.

They're such great companions aren't they? I love them as partners!

Brother, how are you? a pleasure to know about you and see another of your videos with very good news your beet harvest is ready and it looks great, the beetroot has many benefits that for anemia is very good for its high iron content.
It is amazing to see how beautiful the lettuce really is, you eat very healthy and are your own vegetables grown by yourselves.
Candy as always giving me much joy and your wife looks great.
I send many greetings and blessings brother, thank you always for the support

Thank you as well Brother, your continued support is appreciated.

I admire your way of life!
As simple as that.
I believe your beets have grown so big because you took good care of them. They should taste delicious, too.
I boiled some beets that my brother's father-in-law sent us for a present the other day, and we all enjoyed a nice red beet salad with olive oil, some fresh lemon juice, salt, and garlic.
One question:
Why don't you take the whole lettuce root off the ground and then cut the leaves, rather than cutting the leaves one by one and leaving the root into the ground?

If we take it from the ground it is finished where as if we leave it in the ground it continues to grow. We typically have lettuce all year round. It may hard to believe, but you can see us harvesting it in the middle of the winter here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@brimax/6gonil-snowblowing-our-way-to-lunch

How are you friend @brimax how is your day?

You are right they are a large beets also beautiful I see that they can easily be removed from the ground that is good they save a lot of work there I like the beet for a salad would also be very good or maybe a beet juice also brings many benefits

My God I love the way these lettuces look, they look very fresh and that green so beautiful I would love to eat a fresh salad

Candy as always beautiful always active to play

Ahhh, the sound of beet juice makes me thirsty!!!!

Es sumante emocionante cuando mediante nuestro esfuerzo y dedicación podemos obtener los Alimentos para cubrir nuestras necesidades. De verdad que tienes una gran variedad de hortalizas, las Remolachas están enormes imaginó que esa Ensalada tuvó que haber quedado super espectacular y fresquesita @brimax

No siempre cubrimos todas nuestras necesidades, pero tratamos de crecer tanto como podamos.

Hello friend how are you?
There is a lot to learn from your work.I respect your work....
God bless you.

Thank you for your support!

You know how to enjoy and take advantage of the land, I love the beautiful vegetables that you have obtained, It is incredible to eat what you harvest, continue with this work and continue to share so much achievement with us.

It truly is incredible to eat what you harvest!

Friend Brimax impresses me how great these beets are in very good condition and fresh with these beets would do many things

How rich is it when you go to prepare some food and you want to use fresh vegetables and you go to your backyard or garden and you get those fresh vegetables I think this gives an incredible change to the food

Oh Candy beautiful she is very beautiful regards to @anise

You are right, there is nothing better than picking and eating fresh food from your own garden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95