2 Minutes with the Farmer: Money Grows on Trees!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer we are talking about money that grows on trees. I went out and checked on some of the many walnut trees on the farm. We collect and sell walnuts in the fall. Last year we collected over 11,000 lbs of shelled walnuts and sold them. If you have access to some walnut trees I would recommend you looking into it. Collecting walnuts has become a family tradition for us and we all look forward to it.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with me!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I bet you can grow some nice pot plats. good money growing on those trees and they smell lovely too :))

Very true. Probably alot more money for those. But I like my freedom more than money;)

That is very wise cause we can't put a price on freedom and happiness. I love to watch all things grow, it's rewarding lol

Great video. Have been growing Black Walnut trees for about 10 years now. We presently have around 150 of Superior Grafted Black Walnuts Trees. We Purchased them from Advanced Tree Technoloogy out of Indiana with purpose of growing veneer quality timber. We started getting Walnuts around three years ago.

P1220487.JPG

Some pics of top plantation.

P1220425.JPG

P1220431.JPG

Last year I dehusked about 100 of them by hand, Placed Walnut in a dish towel and hit it with a 3lb hammer. Did this just for giggles. Boy does the juice from the husk stain your hands. Wore gloves after the first couple, but the stain I got on my hands from the first few remained on my hands for over a week. My hands were black as night. This year almost all the trees are producing nuts. Even though we planted these trees for veneer grade lumber, I did not know that there was a market for the nut. Thanks for the info and any other information you can supply would be great!
Thanks thebigsweed.

https://black-walnuts.com/discover-harvesting-and-hulling/hulling-and-buying-locations/

This is the company that we sell too. They have buying locations all over the Midwest. I wish you the best of luck

11,000 lbs! Wow! Mom has a walnut tree and usually gives us a bunch. But 11,000 lbs. Wow!

It is a lot of fun. The kids like making money and it teaches hard work

haha! howdy today @bowentroyer! what a nutty idea! ha, couldn't resist that one. what a great idea. I wish we had walnut trees and I wonder how many on here do?
very interesting video sir and surely helpful to someone out there!

Hard work always pays off!

11,000lbs of walnuts! Whoa man! That's a lot of walnuts. I've picked up a lot of pecans, and a few walnuts, but we never had that many walnut trees where we would have enough to sell.

They take them for 14 days. We only licked for 7 last year. This year we are going for 30,000 lbs. I have never picked pecans.

We would climb the pecan trees and shake them get more to fall :D That was the fun part, but then we had this roll around push machine that picked them up and flipped them into a basket.

That does sound like fun

Is it hard to get the green off without a machine?

Not to bad but the machine is amazing at how fast it can do it

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.17
ETH 2341.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35