2 Minutes with the Farmer: Collecting Money From the Trees!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer while I was doing the morning chores I noticed that the walnuts are starting to fall. This means that the money is coming down from the trees. Last year we collected over 11,000 lbs of shelled walnuts. This year our goal is over 30,000 lbs. The season starts October 1. We will keep you updated on our progress.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with me!!!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

30,000lbs, that is a lot of bending over, thank God for the kids! The nuts on my trees are also just starting to fall. They are much bigger than last year. With my Walnut trees being about ten years old, only some have started to produce nuts. Will not have nearly as many. Will try to process some of them. Bought a Walnut cracker for $53. Should save my hands from being stained like last year when I put them in a piece of cloth and hit them with a 3lb sledge.

Let me know how the walnut cracker works. In a few years you will be swimming in the walnuts

will do

Last year we got $15 per 100 this year they are saying it will be more but haven’t set the price yet

30,000 pounds? Good luck on that goal! Do the kids get a cut of the profits? And there is got to be a better way to pick them up then bending over all day long!

Yes the kids can make as much money as they want. They just have to work. I let them keep money for whatever they pick up. Great teaching moment.
We have a rake thing that will pick them up but the fastest way is on your hands and knees

howdy sir Farmer! money grows on trees...right. ya'll have fairys in those woods too don't ya? Wish we had walnut trees. I guess we could plant some.

No fairies just big foots;)

howdy again! haha! good one sir farmer! it wouldn't surprise me either.

We have all kinds of walnuts trees around. I guess I might have to see what I can do. Haha! Do you just have to take the hulls off or do you leave them on when taking them to these sites?

You leave them on. At the site they have a machine that takes them off then they will weigh the nuts and pay you cash

Walnut harvesting is great...we used to have a bunch of trees. The madest i ever saw my dad get was the summer we had worms get to em...you could hear them chewing all night long. Man he was angry!

Posted using Partiko Android

I bet he was angry they were eating money;)

I'm seeing them falling all over our city now. Big goal of 30,000 lbs. That would lead to a sore back for this old man, hahaha.

It takes a few days to get in shape. Last year I lost 15 lbs in 10 days picking walnuts;)

We don't grow walnut here, so I have just google it to see clear photos of it. And it seems that you have planted a lot of walnut trees that will keep you, the children and thefarmerswife busy for weeks. I hope there will be still time for the puppies, the cows and the billy goats 😊

They all grow naturally here. Yes it will be a busy time. I do not think we will have to worry about the puppies. Those are favorites right now on the Farm;)

There is quite a few black walnut trees through the towns of the blackhills. Good luck picking!

Thank you sir

Hiii...

Great Post
My 100 % upvote for this post.
Farmers are very valuable for every country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82