Family Dairy Cow: Great Investment for Homestead or Farm!!!

in #homesteading7 years ago

IMG_2967[1].JPG

We would like to introduce you to Dairy Queen, our family milk cow. We purchased her last year and she has been one of the best investments on our farm/homestead. I know what you are thinking, “I would love a dairy cow but they are just too much work!” That is what I thought too, but hopefully by the end of this post you will come to the same conclusion that my family did: a homestead without a family milk cow is not quite complete.

IMG_2968[1].JPG

The credit for getting a milk cow has to go to my oldest son. He loves milk and all he wanted for his birthday was a dairy cow of his very own. How can you say no to such a request when you are a full-time farmer? We looked on craigslist and found a family that was selling their milk cow, so we bought it for my son’s 9th birthday. He was ecstatic! As soon as she walked off the trailer he said, “I am going to call her Dairy Queen”, and that is the beginning of one of the best decisions we have made here on the farm.
Dairy Queen is one of the hardest working assets on our farm. Not only does she provide our family with delicious milk and milk products but she raises orphan calves for us, and she is amazing at it. She can handle up to two at a time and still have milk to spare.

IMG_2730.JPG

We have found that orphan calves thrive on her. The calf she is currently raising for us has gone from a 70lb new born calf to over 400lbs in just alittle over 4 months. Her milk is rich and creamy which means added pounds for baby calves.

IMG_2965.JPG

But raising calves is just a side benefit to having a milk cow. The main reason we bought her was so our family could have fresh milk that we know where it comes from and what went into making it. There is nothing better than drinking an ice cold glass of fresh milk whenever you want and not worrying for one second where it came from, if it has hormones in it, or if the cow was fed GMO grains its whole life.

Many farmers/homesteaders would love their very own dairy cow but think they do not have the time or the space. Well let me share with you how easy it really is to have a family milk cow and how it only takes about 10 minutes a day to have all the fresh milk your family needs.

Housing- Our cow has access to a small three sided shed that she can get out of the wind and rain. Nothing fancy just room enough for her to lay down and get out of the elements.

Pasture- Dairy Queen has access to about 2 acres of pasture we rotate her around the 2 acres with a single strand of hotwire so she gets access to fresh grass every day.

Feeding- During the spring, summer, and fall Dairy Queen gets pasture for her main course and about 3 lbs of non GMO grain as a special treat after milking. In the winter, when the pasture is all eaten up she gets hay and then the non GMO grain after milking.

Milking- This by far is what worried me the most when thinking about getting a dairy cow. Having to milk her twice a day in the rain, sleet, or snow seemed like a daunting task for a busy family. To solve this time consuming problem we allow Dairy Queen to work for us. A major problem for any cattle farmer is orphan baby calves. They need to be fed 3 times a day and the formula can be very expensive. We let Dairy Queen do all the work for us. We put one or two orphan calves on her and let her be their new mommy. Then we separate her from the calves usually after lunch, and before dinner one of us will go out and hand milk her. We only take about ½ gallon a day as that is all our family needs. Then we put her back in with the calves and they finish off the milk.

This is our daily routine with our family milk cow. All in all it takes about 10 minutes, and we get to enjoy fresh milk, amazing cream for our morning coffee, butter, yogurt and anything else we dream up to make with her milk.

IMG_2966[1].JPG

I hope this will encourage anyone thinking about getting a family milk cow. We are so glad we did!

Sort:  

I guess fresh milk is the last of your worries :)

Yes sir. We always have more than enough. I want to thank you for all your support on here. With just starting out. It is really encouraging to have your upvote. Just wanted you to know that I am very thankful. Hope you have a great day.

GG.jpeg

Thank you for the badge. Appreciate it. Have a wonderful day

I am happy after reading your post.You have a nice cow.You also enjoying a healthy and pure milk .

I am happy after reading your post

Not only is it good to know that the milk is from your own cow but it can save you a ton of money from buying milk in the groceries! Great decision to raise a cow on your own! I love this post! 😀

Great point. We drink about 3 to 4 gallons a week it does save money. Thank u for your comment

my pleasure! it really pays to be practical! see you around! :)

He loves milk and all he wanted for his birthday was a dairy cow of his very own.

Your son my friend is a pure genius. Hahaha! I found your story really refreshing to read. Here's my tiny upvote. Thanks sharing! :D

I agree he is a great son. Couldn't ask for better. Thank you!

I love the name! REALLY creative. Thanks for sharing all this info...I dont know much about cows. So I have a pretty basic cows 101 question. I dont have orphan calfs, so if I got a milk cow how often do they have to have a calf to keep producing milk?

Great question. We will breed her once a year. She will produce milk for 10 months out of the year

When I plan out my future homestead in my head I always flipflop on if I could handle a milk cow - but your post really makes it sound achievable! Thank you for sharing your story about Dairy Queen!

Great advice! we are going to start with dexters, hopefully this spring!

Dexters are great cows. I checked out your main page. Glad to see another KY farmer on here. Nice to meet you.

I think it was a good investment to buy the cow, and a great gift for your child. I am surprised that your son asked for that gift, I see that he is a lover of milk and in a certain way of animals. Greetings and blessings.

He is an outside the box kind of thinker. Made perfect sense to him. He loves milk so he wanted his own milk cow. Thank you for the comment. Have a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47