Life Sculpting Book

I was getting ready to make my first post about the topic of gardening. I felt compelled to post about McMahon's American Gardener. Personally, I cannot begin to even think about gardening without this book coming to my mind. It is the most selected book on my shelf. Let me tell you a little bit about it and why it is so dear to my experience here on this homestead. It ranks as a Life Sculpting Book on my homestead, perhaps it belongs on yours!
McMahon’s American Gardner by Bernard McMahon
IMG_4081 (2).JPG

I was initially intrigued by the fact that this book was written before the tractor, electricity, and petrochemicals. At the time we enjoyed historical re-creation as our main family hobby. Any tips and pointers into the “Old Ways” were much welcomed by me.

Originally published in 1806, Bernard McMahon describes his turn of the 19th-century gardening system. The book is first divided by month, then garden, then crop. McMahon writes about which plants or tasks need attention in the various areas around the gardens and lands. He not only speaks of when to do them but tells you the details of how and why. Here is the brief description from the title page.

KIMG1924-01.jpeg

Once I invested the time reading it, I fell in love with the content of this book. McMahon seems to be a kindred spirit of mine, but much before my time. This book took me beyond the gardens of my youth. He has challenged me to see my role in the garden in a different way.

I have created a tradition of sorts in January of cracking open this book and enjoying the reading of it until my hands get too busy outside in the spring and it falls to the side.

This book has sparked many an idea around my hobby farm and now more importantly on my homestead. I am an ”Oooh... lets experiment!” style gardener, often looking into the bigger geeky picture of things.

This book brings my head back down to the basics, it keeps me focused on some of the details I can be working ahead on, including ways I can use the material passing through my hands.

KIMG1877-01.jpeg

It has been invaluable in planning my homestead and all of the various garden bits I wish to put into place and production. I have already begun a cut flower garden, bulb beds, kitchen perennial garden, a fruit garden. Major leaps will be made in the veggie garden, orchard area and in what will become my garden of healing this year.

KIMG1288-01.jpeg

I endeavor to create a working record similar to this for my own land. A manual of the basics needed to thrive here upon my mountaintop and the woods rolling down from it.

KIMG1968-01.jpeg

This was a gem of a thrift store finds perhaps 20 years ago. I suspect that this printing was due to the high number of folks getting back to the land in the 1970’s as this edition is dated 1976.

A quick Google search shows a more current printing is also available.
https://books.google.com/books/about/AMER_GARDENERS_CAL_ADAPTED_TO.html?id=ZVRZvgAACAAJ

I was very tickled to find it listed on the Internet Archive. https://archive.org/details/americangardcal00mmahrich

I hope I have piqued your interest. This book gets my double thumbs up.

IMG_4081 (3).JPG

~All photos and text in this post are my own work unless otherwise noted or linked to original content~

Homesteaders Online

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF (1).gif

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing, your description of that book sounds like something that I would appreciate and get good us from as well. I love your loyal companion watchfully resting in the garden bed photo. I've got many photos with our dogs doing the same thing. :)

You are welcome. Dogs are such a part of our lives...only right they end up in the pics.
Check out the book, its pretty cool especially for folks adapting to off-grid living and gardening.

I think it is great! Your post looks great!

Thanks. It seems one can never edit enough... I still see tweaks...next post perhaps.

OH! Super cool suggestion! I'm definitely going to have to look into that. ( :

I have a feeling that you have soooo many books at your disposal, thanks for sharing one that you treasure!

Oh, I do! Perhaps this will become a series!

I hope you enjoy it!!!
I'd be curious to chat about it with you sometime down the road.
Thanks for letting me know!

So glad i stumbled upon this book suggestion. I was just wishing today for a gardening book that was a bit more 'back to the basics' but inspiring and inventive, it seems my prayers were answered. Thanks for channeling knowledge + opportunity for growth @borrowedearth

You are very welcome. I am pleased the timing worked out so well. I hope you enjoy. I'd love your feedback on it.

Even though I'm not into gardening, I love finding little underappreciated books in thrift stores. My late grandfather loved gardening and also had a love books. Thanks for the insight into a world that I'd probably never be into, but also for reminding me of my grand dad and his love for books and gardening.

Happy I could stir up a memory for you!
I need to take a thrifting day again soon.
Have a great weekend!

Have a great weekend as well! And here's to finding great reads at your local thrift store

You have been chosen to be my Fostered Gardener Of The Week Thanks to @fulltimegeek's delegation as a Steward of Gondor @goldendawne will be here for you to assist, guide and help you GROW- just like your garden- on steemit. Please accept this 100% Upvote for this post. You will receive a 100% Upvote for every post (up to seven per week) you make for the seven days CONGRATULATIONS on being a committed steemian!

I was intrigued by your enthusiasm for this book and ordered it from the library system. I look forward to browsing through it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66928.57
ETH 3087.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66