Behind the Scenes... The Hosting of a Homestead Hitching Party

This story begins with a real groovy guy named Rich building me a house and then asking me to be his wife.

22104560_10211212857901166_8193309237322990967_o.jpgPhoto by Nick Rubio

Without hesitation, I said Yes!! and we started working on a Plan. We picked a date, a sane to accomplish one, 18 months in the future.

Borrowed Earth Homestead was about to host a Hitchin’ Party!

Sanity quickly went out the window. We quietly got married last July, before the last of our folks passed away, a beautiful family-centered heart and soul filled living room event.

received_1763137727034720-01.jpeg
My camera, unknown button pusher :)

We have effectively spent 6 of those 18 months away from the homestead, on top of family first times we have added a truck crash, a broken nose, a broken leg, a broken hand, and the theft of many essentials while away from the homestead…I am sure you get the gist. However, I am not here to complain, this is a post of determination and celebration!

This Homestead will be ready!

Fast forward to today… we are currently 274 days, a mere 9 months away from the big day. Hours of sweat equity around the Homestead are adding up and finally this week we have accomplished a visible milestone.

Sycamore Stump Seating

Last week, I commented on an endearing post by @walkerland about if manure is an acceptable anniversary gift. I said Yes! The next day, Rich came home for lunch and announced that he had come up with a solution to the seating I wanted to have for the wedding. He had found a tree, he had sawed the tree, with sawdust knee deep I heard (take pics folks!), and in doing so had the vision of stump seats, if I approved. Well heck Ya!!

A few days later, I tagged along to fetch them. I was taking pics! I wish I had seen this tree while it was still whole and erect. I am tickled that it will serve one more layer of purpose before it becomes firewood.

S5031068-01.jpeg
Our donor Sycamore where it was felled.

The big job was moving it up the hill and onto the trailer. When you have a Big job, it calls for a neighborly solution!

S5031074-01.jpeg
This photo is dedicated to great neighbors!

Unloading at home took a bit more oomph and ingenuity.

Before...
S5031078-01.jpeg

... and After!! Whew!
IMG_4173-01.jpeg

I now have 42 Rustic Sycamore Stump Seats for all sizes of rear ends!
In 9 months I hope to have photos of them supporting said rear ends!

Watch for more Behind the Scenes... posts! Follow to see us accelerate the Homestead plan, compressing years of work into... Ooof!...9 months!

~ The Moral of the Post... You might be Homesteading if stumps make great gifts!!! ~


Original images except where noted

Homesteaders Online

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF (1).gif

Sort:  

That was a lot of fun to read! “All sizes of rear ends” is pretty darn funny :) Thank you for sharing it!

Sweet! I am glad you enjoyed it!

My guy actually gets the idea credit for the 'all sizes of rear ends'. While unloading he tossed me the last piece with a "and here's one for a wee little rear, Dear". ;)

Hahahaha that’s too funny!

I love it! You guys arr working so hard, and that tree is huge!!

Thanks! It was a huge tree!
I'm really excited to see this all come together.

WOAH, it is my first time reading a first-hand story about homesteading! It is not common in my home country, and this surely sounds uber exciting. :)

I am happy to be your introduction to homestead stories.

There are many amazing stories shared here in the #homesteading and #homesteadersonline communities. I hope you check them out and find more things to enjoy.
Thanks for reading.

Those tree stumps are awesome ❤❤❤

Thanks! The simple solutions are often the best!

This is SO freaking beautiful!!! I love it. Fabulous post and I'm following to see where this journey leads!

@byn

Thank you so much. I hope you enjoy the adventures to come.

I'll follow your link and check out your work. Enjoy the new week.

~ The Moral of the Post... You might be Homesteading if stumps make great gifts!!! ~

LOVE IT!

Thanks! There is a book my boys had full of goofy morals to goofy stories... I was inspired.

So exciting and beautiful!! I love how it is coming together!

Slow but sure! Beginning to worry that I wont have enough camping room!

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

This is just plain cool....

I envy the homesteading lifestyle! I do a tiny bit of it, but I’d love to branch out and do more. I look forward to reading about more of your adventures.

Please stop back for more. We've been on our homestead almost 3 years now, but this journey of mine began 30 years ago in India.

Mindset changed first, which fueled a satisfying journey of small changes and choices bringing me to where I am today...fully emerged in it and ready to reach out and support others seeking in their own lives what this journey has brought to my own.
Have a joy filled week!

I sure will. Thank you!

What a lovely and honest story! I am sorry to read about the bumps you've had but I am really looking forward to reading more about your stump seating, wedding, homestead and all. ❀

Life is full of ups and downs...

Homesteads and weddings, great fodder for posts!

May you continue to enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93