An Accidental Apprenticeship to a Mountaintop

received_1302817483066749-01.jpeg

I knew this land had lessons to teach me the first time I walked its hills and hollers...


We had permission during our initial visit to stay and camp for the night. Early the next morning, I sat with coffee in hand listening to the woods and soaking up the morning sunshine. I gazed upon sparse spring growth but felt gardens thriving upon this mountaintop. I knew I had found the place to truly experience being me with the land. We never really left, things happened fast, and before we knew it we were setting up camp.

received_1292124220802742-01.jpeg

Early in this scenario, I went into the trees and brambles and had a heart to heart of sorts with my forest. It had been clear-cut logged 12 years before this sale, the previous owner had lived far away on the east coast, visiting just once.

13173145_1196149070404905_1255785030448431504_o (1).jpg

This land had been forgotten, allowing it to go Wild, to heal itself in its own way from the major event of logging. I was on a similar journey to my own wild… healing myself and wholing myself. I was journeying deeper into my personal philosophy around the concept of borrowed earth. I was all discombobulated and ungrounded with many major events happening quickly and thereby opening amazing new doors.

KIMG0450.JPG


I needed the land, and I felt the land had need of me as well. Wholes Opportunities Balance


My accidental apprenticeship had begun.

Its lessons have been beautiful.
Its lessons have been harsh.
Its lessons have been wholing.

I’ve been brought to my crawling knees as a gardener.

I have realized that the beloved woods of my childhood had manicured hands compared to the claws these Ozark forests possess.

I have accepted that I may never understand.

I am learning to respect and honor this mountaintop. I am learning to listen to its orchestra. I am committed to this journey.

This Life of an apprentice to mountaintop and woods is an adventure into the depths of wonder.

859871_747310605284109_1132021822_o.jpg

May your own journey be as rewarding.

Photos are all my original work


Homesteaders Online

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF (1).gif

Sort:  

You Borrowed Earther's are two of the most inspiring people I know. You have a wondrous way of describing your challenges on the mountain.

You have been chosen to be my Fostered Gardener Of The Week Thanks to @fulltimegeek's delegation as a Steward of Gondor @goldendawne will be here for you to assist, guide and help you GROW- just like your garden- on steemit. Please accept this 100% Upvote for this post. You will receive a 100% Upvote for every post (up to seven per week) you make for the seven days CONGRATULATIONS on being a committed steemian!

Great! This looks like a wonderful start to an amazing story!

Hugs! I'm gonna correct you though...

...its the start of a beautiful life!

I like it :) And of course look forward to more.

Thanks! This one needed to be written before the ones I've been trying to write...lol

beautiful post @borrowedearth, really feeling your connection to that mountaintop and the journey you are on. xx resteemed

Thank you! I truly think the only thing this mountaintop needs from me is to learn to be present and aware and connected... Its a beautiful journey.

I currently live in Atikameksheng First Nation Territory, nestled in the beautiful Boreal forests of Northern Ontario, Canada. We're taught that the trees, the plants, even rocks have spirits, and that they each have a lesson for us.

Miigwetch (thank you), Sister. Patiently waiting for spring :)
~A

Sadly I wasn't taught that by my family growing up, but the earth itself got my attention early on.

Challenging sometimes in this consumer/media/me world.

The Earth has a voice...we only need to be still and listen.

My comment a moment ago is appropriate here too...slow ourselves down, open ourselves up... There is much to learn.
I hope to arrange visits to share ourselves and our homesteads soon.

I am happy you are here and I am willing to lend a hand in any way I can.

Very curious to see your art and writing. Make time to nurture yourself with creative expression. Hugs!

Thank you... I am hoping to get the resteruant to the point that I do not have to be there as much. It was Tony's passion and I am trying like hell to keep it alive as It truly helps my daughter and sisters family in providing jobs. The Hollow though is MY passion and I would rather be spending my time here. Hopefully it will work out. I look forward to getting to know you guys better and would love to visit and have you visit here. I am working on getting myself out of a pretty dark place emotionally... I hope to be able to get back to my art and creative writing soon.

The land has plenty to teach if we just listen....it's what I love most about our little homestead.

Very true. Homesteading is life at a different speed...one where the Earth has a better chance of being heard.

@goldendawne pointed me towards your blog and I am moved to help you on your journey here on steemit. As you explore your relationship with Mother Earth, your own spirituality and relationships, I want to help bring awareness to your work and I invite you to join the 'Stewards of Terra Mater'.

It is a group of people with similar beliefs, goals and dreams who are helping one another spread the idea that we can make a difference in this world as we stand as stewards of Mother Earth. You are welcome to visit my blog to learn more and you will also notice that I've delegated 510 steem to help you spread the word and all I ask is that you pay it forward!

May Creator bless you with peace, freedom, prosperity, joy and love.

Welcome to the team!

Weeping and honored I accept!

Once I regain my earth feet I will look into it more...soaring above at the moment.

By the name alone... Stewards of Terra Mater... I believe I am at home.

Excited to get to know you and others with the same mission.

Thank you for this honor.

<3 You are welcome. Blog away my friend. Reach out and upvote! Steem on! I'll write a post in a few days as I added you and another fellow to the team. It is my hope that you find other like minded individuals to work together to bring prosperity to all. Peace to you.

Sounds great!!!! Giving your comment my first big upvote before I try to move the slider... Because I can now! So grateful!

If you visit my blog, I wrote a post a couple days ago about the Stewards of Terra Mater. There you will find the other members. They are very supportive and helpful. There are also a few links to posts that I wrote a while ago which will give you some tools, tips and tricks to get your account growing and increase your influence here on steemit. Feel free to check them out and say hi to everyone! I am also a member of the #stewardsofgondor as is @goldendawne. I was able to find you through that friendship that we build as a result of what @fulltimegeek setup. I look forward to reading what you share and being a witness to your interactions with others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58400.82
ETH 2567.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38