Working Toward Making Bobblehead Homestead My Home

I've been hard at work for much of the past two weeks, and a few things are starting to take shape nicely around my new homestead. I'm still not able to sleep overnight there yet, so the hour commute each way is really cutting into my internet time. That will change soon.

My focus has been to clear out the front bedroom and prepare it for me to live in. It was piled up with two feet worth of junk when I got there on October 7th. I carried out 10 bags of trash from that room, an old bed frame, mattress, and mattress pad. Everything was infested with bugs and rodent dropping.

100_0031.JPG

After getting through that task, I was able to assess the condition of the floor. The floor was not in good shape and I needed to do something about that if I was going to live there.

100_0045.JPG

100_0050.JPG

They finally came out to hook up my electricity on October 12th. I needed the electricity so I could get my water well system up and running, but being a rookie I had no clue how those work. Thankfully, my very cool neighbor stopped by and gave me just the insights needed to get my water operational on October 14th. With power and water operational I was ready to make some more progress.

100_0028.JPG

Those mobile homes use cheap OSB particle board, and it just turns into dust if you walk on it without any type of covering. So I decided the cheapest way to take care of the floor was to paint it. I started by putting a gallon of primer down on the room, which is 9 feet 7 inches wide by 14 feet 10 inches long. (I forgot to get pictures, but I did take video. Here's my almost 7 minute video update from YouTube.)

And that's where I'll leave my progress update for now. (My Cubs are getting wasted by the Dodgers 9-0 right now. Make that 9-1, Kris Bryant finally decided to start hitting).

The cat who adopted me is doing much better. She's starting to put weight on her injured paw and doesn't look so skinny any more. I'd like to keep her, but I just can't afford to get her fixed, so I'm not sure yet how that will work out.

100_0039a.jpg

The 4 hens who survived on their own for months, greet me every time I pull in the driveway. They were getting too anxious to steal the cat's food, so I got some scratch food for them to keep them happy while I feed the cat.

100_0010a.jpg

ArkWest was supposed to turn on my fiber optic internet last week, but they discovered they still needed to run the line to my home, which was contrary to what their records said. So it won't be until next week when I'll have my internet hooked up out there. That should be about the time I'll be ready to start living there. I can't wait.

You can also check me out on...
YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/c/PeoriaDude
Twitter - https://twitter.com/Bobbleheadstead
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/bobbleheadstead/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/peoriadude/
My Steemit intro post w/ video

Sort:  

Impressive progress! Having electric & water will definitely make things easier going forward, so I'm sure you'll be moving in quickly. Great job!

Thank you. The electricity makes power tools possible, so it's been great to get it going and get more work done.

That's amazing progress... water electric and internet coming soon.. that was fast...
Go Cubs... watching but not enjoying..

Thanks. The internet isn't coming as fast as I previously thought, but it'll get there next week about the time I'm ready to move in. Can't wait.

No rush. It'll happen. Take a deep breath ...

That's some great progress! What an exciting adventure!

Great progress! I would spray the water soiled areas with a bleach solution to kill the mold. Then bomb the entire house with bug killer and do it heavily! I think I used 9 cans to fumigate the house and 6 cans to bomb my shop. So glad I did that! Now I am in a battle with sugar ants.
Keep up the great work. Would definitely like to keep seeing your progress. I too just got our farm two months ago. A lot of work to do to get it where we want it.

Kenny
@pfeilerfam5

That's kind of what I was thinking also. I did use bleach on that water damaged area and washed the walls with the bleach solution also. I didn't bug bomb the whole house, but I did bug bomb that room after wiping down the walls. Then I wiped the walls down again before painting the floor. Now I've got the seal off the door to keep any more from getting in, hopefully.

Thanks, that's pretty exciting get a place and making it your own, I hope you're enjoying it as much as I am. Well, except for the not shooting deer part, I can do that at my place IF they come by.

Build a feeder and toss out some buck urine! They will come! I just checked my trail camera tonight. I have another buck on our property. Three large bucks....and I cannot harvest them.

Peroxide to kill mold, bleach won't kill it. Awesome to see you are getting closer to living the dream!

I did not know that, thank you. I only used bleach, but then I put primer or paint over it so hopefully that is good enough. The source of the water is the shower on the other side, and I won't be using that so I don't think it will be a problem going forward. I'll definitely use peroxide in the future.

The whole gang is rooting for you. Power and water a little paint and your new place will be ready to go. You are working pretty fast. The progress is amazing . 🐓🐓

Thank you, I am happy so far, I'll be living there soon enough.

Plus the paint tops it off! Love the colors you picked. Very autumn! 🐓🐓

Everyone/Thing is looking good and great progress!...cleaning them out takes time! We have a couple rental trailers and we buy them cheap as it is the only way we can afford them... so been there...It makes you feel great though when you turn them into something clean and tidy...great job...
Melissa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05