You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saving Up SBD for Steem Powered Raised Beds

Great idea, with all the rocks in my ground I'll probably need raised beds as well. Another idea I've seen to keep critters from burrowing in underneath, is using chicken wire or some type of metal fencing on the bottom instead of the hardware cloth. That way any excess water can get through the bottom along with the roots if they grow that deep, but a gopher can't get up into the bed.

I've also seen where people have made hugelkultur- type raised beds where they put in a layer of old trees before filling with soil, to cut down the amount of soil they needed to fill it. I've never done anything like this, but just thought I'd throw those ideas out there. Getting started this fall is wise, I think, good luck gettin' 'er done.

Sort:  

Oh hardware cloth is like metal fencing. :) it has small holes like half inch squares.

You're reading my mind! The Hügelkultur was part of the plan. :) haha

Ah, that sounds perfect then. I was picturing something different, maybe like a tarp. So many terms for that kind of stuff, I can't keep track. :) Thanks.

There are a lot of terms! Hard for me to keep up too! I always wanna call it "hardWIRE" cloth. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51