Goat Tastes Great!

I shared with you a few days back that I finally began culling my goat herd.

The weather was going to be warming up so I knew I needed to finish the job and cut up the carcass of Blotchy, the first goat to be culled, and get it into the fridge and freezer.

IMG_20171210_104921997.jpg

Needless to say, but I have never cut up anything this big before, so I brought in an "expert" to help me navigate my first time.

The results were mixed. It took me longer than it probably should have and good cuts of meat were "butchered" by my unskilled hands. But learning I did!

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

IMG_20171210_110032477.jpg

IMG_20171210_110048939.jpg

IMG_20171210_111551794.jpg

IMG_20171210_145733350.jpg

IMG_20171210_114256704_HDR.jpg

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

In the end, I salvaged a lot of good red meat and @allforthegood is currently making bone stock out of the rest of the ol' goat.

Last night @allforthegood cooked up some fajitas for our first taste of our own goat.

video2gif_20171211_191226.gif

BLUER-blue-strip-3.jpg

Success!

Blotchy tasted great! All my children enjoyed the delicious meat. It was especially satisfying for me and my wife since Blotchy was an almost 2 year investment in time and money.

He turned out to be a pretty expensive cut of meat, but he was OUR meat.

Thanks for Reading/Watching!

qs-comments-smart-remarks.gif

BLUER-closing-3 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Feeding and caring for your family with food you know is the most important part of homesteading! Well done! Quit playing with your food, this is why we can't have nice things ;-)

That is so awesome! We are looking forward to that eventual day when we, too, can eat one of our own animals that we know we raised well on good food. So far, we have only produced eggs, but meat will one day be here, too! And goat will be one of those. We both love the taste of goat and lamb.

been there...done that.
One thing I learned that any country kid knew from day one was.
cut at the joints.
cut the tendons.
cutting bone is hard.

I now agree.

Nice post fri

While I have never had goat... I have had lamb.
I need to go to the butcher and smoke house nearby to see if they have goat.
They have elk, buffalo, venison and all sorts of unusual meats.

thanks for sharing!

Love that it is a family affair! Nice.

Awesome! Blotchy served his purpose, I've never had goat before, but the fajitas sound delicous! It's always a relief to have an investment be worth it, especially when it means progress on the homestead.

I've wondered how goat tastes? What would you compare it to?

Like beef. Honestly. I expected it to taste more like venison but it tasted pretty much the same as beef.

Venison would have been my guess, too. That's interesting!

Who cares if it wasn't perfect, I bet you learned so much. Next time won't be perfect either, but it will be better. I'm glad he pleased your tastebuds.

Yeah, I've never been afraid of trial and error. There is always something to learn.

We just started raising goats. We have a friend @waterfowler that is going to show us how to slaughter one when the time comes. I think it's better to have someone to help you do it hands on the first time. Following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30