Frozen Water Lines Fixya

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Home-IN-Steading update.

This will be a quick vlog to show you how I solved a serious problem on my homestead.

FROZEN WATER LINES!

Enjoy!

If you watched the video, you would have seen how I constructed a little insulated hydrant-house to keep my water lines from freezing again.

The temperature dipped down to 14 degrees F last night (the weather forecast was calling for a low of 26.) One thing that I have learned living here in the Ozarks, is that the weather man is only right on Sundays.

In order to prevent that from happening again, I had to give the yard hydrant some more protection. I'm willing to bet that it won't freeze again. The R-value on that insulation is R-16. With the 60 watt bulb burning in that small space it should remain nice and cozy. Hopefully, mice, chipmunks, rats or squirrels won't figure that out anytime soon.

I'll keep you posted on the effectiveness of my solution.

Thanks for Reading/ Watching!

qs-comments-smart-remarks.gif

BLUER-closing-3 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Wow, you STILL HAVE that 3/4" plywood from our house in WI, and used it. How cool is that!

That was the 4' and under scraps. I used the larger pieces last fall on my cabin decking. I put osb sturdy floor on the other side, which is all ruined now and needs to be ripped off. The treated plywood still looks good.

Now that is a fantastic fix! Way to go for hanging on to future needs material ;-)

Where's the pool?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01