You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Pressure Can With An All American Pressure Canner, Model 921

This is another great article, Becca! We have a glass top stove so I learned some valuable tips from this! Talk about high pressure containers, I have some potential bombs in my basement. I do a little bit of welding with a MIG machine, AC machine and an Oxy acetylene set up. It's cheaper to buy the biggest bottles that you can so I have 3 missle sized cylinders down there that are pretty intimidating looking, knowing the explosive potential of them. The AC just uses electricity and electrodes, the MIG machine uses a cylinder of 75/25 inert gas (75% argon 25% CO2) and the oxy acetylene set up has the really sketchy bottles. One bottle is over 4' tall with 120cf of oxygen with 2,400 psi 😨. The acetylene bottle is a little shorter and has acetone in it to stabilize the acetylene. This bottle can explode if you turn the pressure over 15 psi because the acetylene becomes unstable at this point. Certain procedures are essential to using these set ups. For example: When opening the valve on the oxygen tank, you open it as slow as you can. There is so much pressure going in to the regulator that if there was a spec of dust inside it and you opened the valve fast, it could explode. My anal ring was puckered tight when I first set my system up and used it for the first time.

Sort:  

Hahaha! How do you sleep at night over-top of those missiles? In this high tech world with all it's marvels and dangers, some how survival of the fittest always comes back to the setting of a ring tone and the brain power together. LOL!

LMAO! I know, I know it's not the most intelligent thing to have stored in the house but I don't have much choice. We've been "planning" on building an outdoor building for all my missles and tools but it just hasn't been in the cards since we bought this house. I have them positioned so if they do explode, they should go straight through the upper floor, missing the bed by inches so that makes me feel better ;)

Hahaha! Safety first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39